The 25 Days of Holiday Goodies Day 8: Caramel Truffles

25 Days of Christmas Goodies Button

IMG_0616[1]

I truly am surprised every time I search my blog that I haven’t posted this recipe yet.  In the beginning there were six truffle varieties:  caramel, orange, champagne, mocha, cappuccino, and one more that I cannot remember.

After a couple of years of slaving over them, I asked my family and friends for their favorites to whittle them down to two.

In the end, there were only two:  the orange one and the caramel one.

Full confession:  I am not a dark chocolate person.  So, if I indulge in chocolatey delights, the caramel ones are always my go-to choice.

And, with the advent of the salted caramel craze, frosting the tops of the dipped truffles with your salt of choice makes a delightful contrast (unless you overdo it as I sometimes do).

If you follow along with Taste of Home, where I originally found the caramel truffles recipe, you will note one or two differences.  If you have read this blog for long, you know I do this often.  New readers–I’m sorry in advance!

By the way, Muffin prefers this truffle or “chocolate balls,” as he calls them.  #TeamMilkChocolate!  Oh, and he would want everyone to know that he helped with the truffles.  He unwrapped all 52 Kraft caramels!

(Note:  The caramel truffles are the ones that are light brown in the picture above near the top right/center.)

Caramel Truffles

Adapted from Taste of Home

52 unwapped caramel squares (Kraft)

4 2/3 cups milk chocolate chips

1/2 cup whipping cream

2-3 T shortening

Line an 8-inch square dish with parchment paper; set aside.

In a large Pyrex measuring cup, combine caramels and cream (Ignore the instructions–this works MUCH better!).  Microwave on high, uncovered, or 1 1/2 minutes.  Stir.  Microwave in 15-second increments, stirring after each time, until the caramel is melted and the mixture resembles caramel dip (for apples).

Pour in two cups of chocolate chips.  Stir.  Microwave in 15-second increments, stirring after each time, until melted and incorporated.  Spread into prepared pan.  Refrigerate for one hour or until firm.

Lift, by the parchment, out of the pan.  Pinch of bits and roll into one-inch balls (smaller is okay, too).  Cover and refrigerate another hour.

In another Pyrex measuring cup, melt remaining chocolate chips and shortening; stir until smooth.  Dip balls in chocolate; allow excess to drip off.  Place on parchment.  Allow to set in the fridge.

Muffin Approved

What is your favorite type of chocolate?

One thought on “The 25 Days of Holiday Goodies Day 8: Caramel Truffles

  1. Pingback: The 25 Days of Holiday Goodies: The Recap Roundup | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?