The 25 Days of Holiday Goodies Day 9: Magic Cookie Bars

25 Days of Christmas Goodies Button

IMG_6789

Gooey Goodness!

This recipe came to me from one of my best friends in my writing group.  I have seen photos of them before, and, when it came time to bring something to work or a Thanksgiving potluck, this as my chance to ask for the recipe!

It turns out that the recipe comes from the Eagle Brand website.  Now, what is the est-known Eagle Brand product?

Sweetened.

Condensed.

Milk.

That is the creamy, syrupy substance guaranteed to raise your blood sugar several points and bring a huge smile to your face.

I have never tested this, but my guilty secret is that I would like to sit down with an opened can of sweetened condensed milk and a spoon.

If I’m not going to do that, these bars are a much better choice.

And everyone that tasted the first batch loved them (at work and at home!).  My dad, in particular, really liked them.

I was going to take them to a cookie exchange party today, but Muffin is riding in the local Christmas parade for the cub scouts.

Instead, I will be making a Christmas batch on the 20th during that last flurry of holiday baking activity.

Posting the recipe today should give you ample time to join me in that baking quest that will include candy cane cookies, boeterkoek, and decorated sugar cookies.

Oh, and this hardly goes without saying, but this recipe is completely Muffin Approved!

Muffin Approved

Magic Cookie Bars

Source (original): Eagle Brand

1/2 cup melted butter

1 1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs

2 cups chocolate chips

1 can (14 ounces) sweetened condensed milk

1 1/3 cup shredded coconut

1 cup chopped pecans (or other nuts)

Set the oven to 350 degrees.

Coat a 13×9 baking pan with nonstick spray.

Combine graham cracker crumbs and butter.  Press into prepared pan.

Pour sweetened condensed milk evenly over the graham cracker layer.  Layer evenly with remaining ingredients.  Press down.

Bake 25 minutes or until lightly browned.  Cool.  Cut into bars.  Store covered at room temperature.

Note:  My friend recommends chilling the bars before cutting to make cutting easier.  I completely concur!

What is your favorite bar cookie?

One thought on “The 25 Days of Holiday Goodies Day 9: Magic Cookie Bars

  1. Pingback: The 25 Days of Holiday Goodies: The Recap Roundup | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?