Tip Tuesday: Homemade Candy Faves!

Tip Tuesday

 

IMG_0677

Growing up, I loved Almond Joys and Mounds bars.  Well, sort of.  This is going to sound very high maintenance of me, but I hated dark chocolate growing up and wasn’t too fond of nuts (including almonds).  I used to always whine ponder why they couldn’t make a coconut candy bar coated in milk chocolate without nuts.

When I saw several three- and four-ingredient Mounds bar recipes online, I knew what I had to do.  I had to make it with milk chocolate chips.

That was the first recipe correction to the one I found on Back for Seconds.  The other problem?  Like dipping truffles, dipping barely-held-together bars of coconutty gooey goodness resulted in a lot of tears.  I decided to force them into balls and dip the balls.

So, basically, I made milk chocolate Mounds balls or almond-free Almond Joy balls.  Or, as Back for Seconds so efficiently put it, 4 Ingredient Coconut Cream Bars (errr, Balls).

Tip Tuesday Tip:  Clone your favorite candy bars for a less-expensive and/or more desirable product.

4 Ingredient Coconut Cream Balls

Adapted from Back for Seconds

20 ounces shredded coconut

14 ounces sweetened condensed milk (Plus more, you know, to get your fix on with a spoon.  I know I’m not the only one who does this!)

2 cups powdered sugar

2 bags milk chocolate chips, approximately 22-24 ounces, melted

In a large bowl, combine the non chocolate ingredients.  Press into a 9×13 pan and freeze for 1 hour (Be sure to grease the pan.).  Meanwhile, slurp sweetened condensed milk by the spoonful.  You know you want to!

Slice into small squares  haha!  Scoop and press into balls and dip in melted chocolate.  Set dipped balls on waxed or parchment paper on a pan to set up.  Store in an airtight container (preferably in the fridge).

Other great candies to make at home (that I’ve made and posted here)?

Chocolate-Covered Strawberries

Chocolate-Dipped Licorice

Cranberry-Pistachio Bark

Cream Cheese Mints

Easy Peanut Butter Fudge

Frogs

No-Bake Peanut Butter Bars (Think homemade Reese’s cups)

Orange Truffles

Pralines

Sweet and Spicy Pecans

What candies and sweet treats do you like to make at home?

What do you think?

