The 25 Days of Holiday Goodies Day 11: Mashed Potatoes

25 Days of Christmas Goodies Button

So, if you look back at the original list, I am not quite following the list for today.  It is totally and completely my fault.  My mom printed out her recipe for cheesecake, and I flubbed it and can’t find where I put it in my house.

Since I cannot find it, and I am going to my mom’s later today so I can take a picture of it with my phone (yay, phone!), I am going to substitute a later-day’s recipe for it.

Enter that king of side dishes:  mashed potatoes!

Yes, I am probably a bit sleep-deprived.

However, in Muffin’s opinion, mashed potatoes top all side dishes, except possibly macaroni and cheese.  He even eats them (shockers!) sans gravy.

And the doesn’t like the high falutin’ ones like twice-baked potato casserole, chunky mashed potatoes, or potatoes with enough seasonings and “stuff” so that I can eat them stand-alone.

No.  He likes the spud, cream, and butter to stand on their own merits.

As a result, I give you the most boring of pictures:

IMG_5095

Yup.

Mashed potatoes, no gravy.  Muffin’s arguably second-favorite side.

And how do I do it?  This is how…

Mashed Potatoes

Source:  Trial and Error (and Blood, Sweat, and Tears) by Me

5 pounds Russet potatoes, peeled, washed, and cubed

1/4-1/2 cup heavy cream

additional milk as necessary

4 T butter (or buttah)

salt and pepper, to taste

Boil potatoes in a pot full of water until fork tender.  Drain and return to pot.  Add butter to begin melting.  Using a hand mixer, cream potatoes until most lumps are removed.  Add cream (and milk, if necessary).  Continue mixing with hand mixer until mixture is lumpless (yes, that’s a technical term) with a whipped consistency.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Serve topped with gravy or shredded cheddar and bacon bits.  (or, nothing if you are my child)

This recipe is completely and totally Muffin Approved!

Muffin Approved

What is your favorite mashed potato recipe?

 

One thought on “The 25 Days of Holiday Goodies Day 11: Mashed Potatoes

  1. Pingback: The 25 Days of Holiday Goodies: The Recap Roundup | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?