Funny Muffin Friday: “Green” Potatoes

Funny Muffin Friday

Now, before I begin this post, I must debrief by saying that Muffin’s favorite color is green.  He has lately been very upset that all of our towels are blue and white.  He doesn’t understand why we don’t have green towels.  (Considering the fact that I tried several times to get him to “commit” to a favorite color, I shouldn’t complain.)

I’ve been able to get him to try (and mostly like) green food because of this love of the color green.  Green peppers notwithstanding, of course.  Well. if you remember from Monday’s menu plan, I attempted Missy’s Twice-Baked Potatoes from Miss Kay’s cookbook (of the exploding potato fame) to go with Muffin’s favorite pork chop recipe, Dr. Pepper Pork Chops.

The Dr. Pepper Pork Chops also have the distinction of being Josh’s first slow cooker recipe that he tried.  I didn’t get the chops thawed in time for preparation for dinner Tuesday, so they got moved to Wednesday.  We had the chicken spaghetti instead.  Well, Wednesday I was running behind getting ready for work, so I asked Josh to start them up before I left.  Josh used Big Bertha to make the pork chops because we needed the time-and-warm feature.

Muffin was so so so excited about the pork chops.  But then came the potatoes.  Actually, they are more of a twice-baked potato casserole.  I purchased Kroger brand ranch dip mix which turned the potatoes green.

I figured surely he would love them.  They had everything he loved…bacon…cheese…ranch flavor…potatoes.  He almost refused to try it.  I suggested he try it with a bite of pork chop.  He did and took a long drink of his drink afterward.

“I don’t like it,” he said Wednesday night after that one bite.  I was really and truly shocked.

Then, when I picked him up at my mom’s Thursday afternoon, I heard from my mom, “So, what are green potatoes?”

I glared at Muffin.

“He did say he really liked the pork chops,” my mom hastened to explain and smooth things over.

Josh and I really did like the “green” potatoes, but they are unfortunately not Muffin Approved.

For those of you who want to try them, as I did (mostly in an attempt to find a sour-cream-free twice baked potato alternative) here is what I did.  As usual, I didn’t entirely follow the recipe.  If you wish to compare the two, please be sure to check out Miss Kay’s cookbook.

“Green” Potatoes (Hopefully, yours won’t be green!)

Adapted from Missy’s Twice-Baked Potatoes from Miss Kay’s Duck Commander Cookbook

8 small-to-medium potatoes, baked in a 350 degree oven

4 slices bacon, cooked until crisp and crumbled

1 stick butter

1 package ranch dressing or dip mix

1 1/3 cups milk

2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1/2 cup chopped green onions (We told Muffin they were scallions)

Tony’s or Duck Commander Cajun Seasoning, to taste

Place the butter in a largish bowl.  While the potatoes are still hot, empty the potatoes of their jackets into the bowl over the butter.  Discard the skins.

Pour the ranch mix onto the potatoes, and the milk, as well.  Mash the potatoes with a potato masher until they are creamy and have absorbed the milk.  Stir to make sure all is mixed completely.  Stir in 1 cup of the cheese, 1/4 cup of the green onions, half of the bacon, and Tony’s to taste until all are mixed together.

Turn the contents into a 9×9 baking dish that has been sprayed with nonstick cooking spray.  Top with the remaining ingredients.  Shake on more Cajun seasoning to taste.

Bake in a 350 degree oven until hot with melted cheese on top.

(I made this ahead to the “baking” step and stored it in the fridge, wrapped in foil.)

2 thoughts on “Funny Muffin Friday: “Green” Potatoes

  1. Pingback: We Plan Wednesday: Summer Visitors–Food! | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  2. Pingback: We Plan Wednesday: The June Menu | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

