The 25 Days of Holiday Goodies Day 13: Neiman Marcus Cookies

25 Days of Christmas Goodies Button

These cookies are awesome!!!  Yes, I don’t usually say that, especially with three exclamation points, but they are.  This is the version of the recipe that I’ve always made that is attached to the fabled $250 recipe.

I’ll let you Google the back story.

After making the tiramisu, I seem to have a ton (well, like a cup) of espresso powder remaining.  I am not a coffee drinker.  When Josh received his Keurig from my parents’ for his birthday, I thought, “Oh, goody!  Let’s go shopping for the ‘non-coffee’ pods!”

So, in thinking up recipes for the 25 Days of Holiday Goodies, I decided to make these cookies (because they require espresso powder).  And because they are awesome!

They don’t make a lot of cookies, so I doubled the recipe.  No, that’s actually not true.  I doubled the recipe because, in my haste, I confused half a cup with half a pound of butter and managed to dump sugar on top of the two sticks before I realized my mistake.

Oh, the best way I’ve found to serve them?  Ten to fifteen seconds in the microwave.  The chocolate chips re-goo-zee-fie and become all lovely and yummy.

Here’s what I did:

Neiman Marcus Chocolate Chip Cookies

Source:  All Recipes

1/2 cup unsalted butter

1 cup packed brown sugar

3 tablespoons white sugar

1 egg

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 teaspoons instant espresso coffee powder

1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Grease a cookie sheet.  In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and the sugars until smooth.  Beat in the egg and vanilla.  Sift together dry powdery ingredients.  Stir into the creamed mixture.  Stir in the chocolate chips.  Drop dough using a 1 1/2 tablespoon disher onto the prepared baking sheet.  Cookies should be 1 1/2 to 2 inches apart and large (12-15 cookies).  Bake 8-10 minutes.  Remove from baking sheets to cool on wire racks.

These are completely Muffin Approved!

Muffin Approved

page01

What do you think?

