The 25 Days of Holiday Goodies Day 3: Eggnog

25 Days of Christmas Goodies Button

Today’s recipe I actually found and made for our package opening day (December 23) last year.  December 25 is all about Jesus and Santa.  December 24 is Christmas Eve at my mom’s and dad’s.  December 23 is all about our family unit sharing gifts and laughter.

Has anyone noticed how insanely expensive eggnog is?

And how most of it tastes processed?

Well…I decided to make some last year.  I found a recipe I liked (from Deep South Dish) and…well…you know how my recipe following goes.  I had to change it.

Here’s what I ended up doing:

And Muffin drinking some (last year):

Eggnog

1 quart half and half

3/4 cup sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch

5 egg yolks, whites reserved for another use (like macarons!)

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 teaspoons rum extract

ground or grated nutmeg, to taste

1 cup whipping cream, whipped to soft peaks

additional rum or other alcohol for serving (to adults only)

Bring the half and half to a boil over medium heat in a large saucepan.  As it begins to boil and foam up the sides of the pan, whisk together the sugar and the starch.  Then, whisk the sugar and starch into the half and half.  Beat the egg yolks until lemony and thick.  Temper eggs with hot half and half (I have someone drizzle milk in while I whisk like mad.  Then, right before adding the eggs in, I have someone drizzle in the milk as a cupful).  Whisk the tempered eggs into the hot half and half.  Cook until the mixture coats the back of a spoon, leaving a trail when dragging a finger across.  Strain into a container to chill the mixture.  Add flavoring.  Just before serving, fold in whipping cream.

page01

What do you think?

