Tip Tuesday: Kitchen Essentials #1: The Slow Cooker

Tip Tuesday

It seems fitting that my new Tip Tuesday series on essential kitchen items should begin with a slow cooker.

Anyone who knows me or who has read this blog for any length of time knows of my love of my slow cookers.  I have two, in fact.  Big Bertha (my 7-quart programmable behemoth) and ‘Red (my smaller, saucier 5 quart).  I wouldn’t mind having more, however (hint, hint).

It uses almost no electricity (compared to my power-draining oven).  When it’s hot in the summer, it keeps the kitchen as cool as possible.  The crock insert is its own serving bowl.

On this blog I have already featured several slow cooker recipes.

Crockpot Thai-Peanut Chicken

Apple Cider (Slow Cooker Adaptable, easily)

Chipotle’s Copycat Barbacoa

BBQ Sausages

Biscoff Baked Oatmeal in the Slow Cooker

Crockpot Baked Ziti

Crockpot Cheesy Ravioli Casserole

Crock Pot Creme Caramel Bruleed French Toast

Crock Pot Honey Garlic Chicken

Crock Pot Low-Country Boil

Crock Pot Macaroni and Cheese

Crock Pot Pork Tips and Gravy

Crock Pot Ranch Pork Chops

Crock Pot Style Gyros

Dr. Pepper Pork Chops

Mom’s Pork Loin

Pizza Meatball Subs

Chipotle’s Carnitas

Simple Crockpot Chicken and Dumplings

Slow Cooker Hawaiian Pork

Slow Cooker Refried Beans

Slow Cooker Root Beer Pulled Pork

Slow Cooker Rotisserie Chicken

I’m going to share with you another recipe today that is a reader recommendation:  Slow Cooker Sloppy Joes from Southern Living.  The addition of sausage really makes the recipe.  Feel free to substitute ground turkey, chicken, or pork for the beef.

Image-2

Slow Cooker Sloppy Joes

Source Southern Living

1 1/2 pounds lean ground beef
1 (16-oz.) package ground pork sausage
1 small onion, chopped
1/2 medium-size green bell pepper, chopped (I used a whole one.)
1 (8-oz.) can tomato sauce
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup ketchup
1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 tablespoons cider vinegar (I used red wine vinegar.)
2 tablespoons yellow mustard
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
8 hamburger buns, toasted
I microwaved the onion and bell pepper for two minutes and browned the meats together in a large skillet.  I then mixed together all of the ingredients in my crock insert.  I cooked on high for four hours.
*The recipe also lists directions for making it only on the stove top if you are pressed for time.
What is your favorite slow cooker recipe?

What do you think?

