Thoughtful Thursday: Review of Dinnertime by Ree Drummond

Thoughtful Thursday

What are the odds of having a not-rant-filled Thoughtful Thursday post.  I can feel the breeze caused by the collective eye rolls, y’all.  Truly, this one is more gushy than rant-y.  (Disclosure:  I received a copy of the cookbook that I will review below as a birthday gift from my parents.)

I promise.

For my birthday, my mom gave me three cookbooks, two on my birthday and one after (because it came out after my birthday).

Today, I will review for you the one that arrived after my birthday, allowing for the recency effect.

Image-1 (5)

Yup.  My mom handed it to me in the open package from Amazon.  She had to take a peek.  I now have all four of her cookbooks.

I love all three of the ones I had before, but the first one was the one I have always referred to as “the best.”  After skimming through (okay, absorbing every word, graphic, and photograph) the “new” cookbook, I have this to say:  the first one has a run for its money at last.

I LOVE IT!!!!!!

Most (if not all) recipes are available on her blog, and many have been featured on her TV show on Food Network.  This would be an excellent cookbook for the beginner cook for several reasons.  1) She photographs each step of the cooking process. 2) She has suggestions in the beginning to help streamline the cooking process (advanced prep, etc.).  Nothing new, but it is explained in the type of detail you would get from your bestie. 3) She offers serving suggestions and variations for each recipe.

So, it would (like her first cookbook) make a great bridal, housewarming, or college gift.

Her book is divided into breakfast, soup, salad, freezer food, 16-Minute Meals, pasta, comfort food, new favorites, veggie sides, starchy sides, and quick desserts.

Some of the highlights I’m looking forward to trying/trying again:

Greek Yogurt Pancakes

Waffles

Huevos Rancheros

Homemade Enchilada Sauce

Croissant French Toast (once the croissants from Sam’s go stale)

Breakfast Quesadillas

Lazy Chiles Rellenos

Cobb Salad

Chicken Taco Salad

Buffalo Chicken Salad

Tomato Soup with Parmesan Croutons

Potato Soup

Sausage, Potato, and Kale Soup (like Olive Garden’s Zuppa Toscana)

Cheesy Cauliflower Soup

Ready-to-Go Freezer Meatballs (including variations for Sweet-and-Sour, Sweedish, and BBQ meatballs)

Ready-to-Go Grilled Chicken

Ready-to-Go Chili Packets

Ready-to-Go Taco Chicken (with a variation for Chicken Nachos)

Ready-to-Go Beef Taco Filling (with variations for Salad Tacos)

Baked Ziti (that uses meat…I know!  Shocker!)

Lasagna Roll-Ups

Chicken with Mustard Cream Sauce (Every once in a while a recipe comes along that screams “TRY ME!” This is one of those recipes!)

Pan-Fried Pork Chops

Orange Chicken (Otherwise known as, I have now after tears, angst, massive feelings of failure, self-doubt, and much bad feelings, finally created Orange Chicken successfully)

Beef with Snow Peas

Cashew Chicken

Chow Mein

Pasta Puttanesca

Bow-Tie Chicken Alfredo

Pasta with Vodka Sauce

Cajun Chicken Pasta (This is truly an awesome recipe.  Adjust spicyness to taste.  I feel the need to make it.  Like now!)

Skillet Lasagna

Shrimp Scampi

Quick Shells and Cheese

Salisbury Steak

Tuna Noodle Casserole

Oven-Barbecued Chicken

Red Wine Pot Roast

Chicken Enchiladas

Pork Chops with Wine and Roasted Garlic

Pollo Asado

Chicken Marsala

Pork Chops with Pineapple Fried Rice

Chicken Milanese

Pawhuska Cheesesteaks

Green Chile Chicken

Burrito Bowls

Roasted Asparagus

Roasted Grape Tomatoes

Broccoli Cauliflower Casserole (I detest cauliflower and broccoli is not my favorite, but I want to try this one!)

Lemony Green Beans

Peas and Carrots

Colorful Coleslaw

Roasted Carrots with Vinaigrette

Veggies and Three Dips

Stovetop Mashed Potatoes

Breakfast Potatoes

“Slice-Baked” Potatoes

Rice Pilaf

Buttered Parsley Noodles

Risotto

Cheese Biscuits

Refrigerator Rolls

The Bread

Pudding (Vanilla, Butterscotch, Chocolate)

Quick Caramel Sauce

Slice and Bake Cookies

Quick Fudge

Rice Pudding

Dessert Panini

What do you think?

