Meal Plan Monday: It’s Only July and I Don’t Want to Heat Up the Kitchen!

Meal Plan Monday

It’s July, people!  July!  Today, we will hit 100 degrees for the fourth day in a row!  I REFUSE to heat up the kitchen.  I priced it out.  Little Caesar’s is cheaper than running the oven and then the air having to work even more overtime to cool the house afterward.

Until Friday (when I’m having Mexican Pizzas gosh darnit!), there will be NO using of the oven.  If it can’t be made in the slow cooker or cooked outside or made in the slow cooker (repetition intentional), we will eat out.  I’ve drawn that line.

We still have all of August to go through.

It should be noted that not too long ago I was hoping the rain would go away.

Could we have the rain back please?

I have plans to use the slow cooker seven times over this nine-day span.

(Yes, it’s that bad.)

I’ve heard that the area where my in-laws live is under heat advisory being in the low 30s Celsius.  We will be kissing 40 Celsius (at 39ish now) shortly.

I’d really rather not.  For those who are Fahrenheit-inclined, 40 Celsius is 104 Fahrenheit.

It is literally too hot to eat.

If dairy didn’t give me such a problem, I would be drinking shakes and smoothies only, rather than eating.

If it’s bad enough that I can barely choke down a Monterey Melt from Whataburger, we’ve got issues.

Of course, it could have something to do with the fact that I’ve been sick with bronchitis and sinusitis.  I would really like to drink (cold) my meals for the next month or so.

I thought about calling my boss and saying that I’m relocating to Australia (They’re having winter, I believe) for the month of August. (Teachers start back to school on August 5…yay!)  I don’t think she would appreciate that much.

Yes, it’s that bad.

Anyway…enough of my whining…

Saturday:  Chipotle Carnitas

Sunday:  Mom’s Pork Loin

Monday:  Slow Cooker Red Beans and Rice

Tuesday:  Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Wednesday:  Crock Pot Dr. Pepper Pork Chops

Thursday:  leftovers

Friday:  Mexican Pizzas from Life in the Lofthouse (The only concession that I’m making to the oven.)

Saturday:  Crockpot Coconut Lime Chicken from Crock Pot Gourmet

Sunday:  Grill something/anything or leftovers

How are you beating the heat in the kitchen this week?

What do you think?

