Thoughtful Thursday: Recipe from the Post That Disappeared

Thoughtful Thursday

This is very scary folks.  My Thoughtful Thursday post that I poured my heart and soul into disappeared.  I am trying to get to the bottom of it, but, sadly, I didn’t have the post saved.  I will now attempt to recreate the recipe portion.

This recipe, as I said so much more eloquently in the now-missing post, is adapted from a recipe at Food.com.  It says spicy but you can adjust the spice to your taste.  My son, Muffin-who-swallows-cups-of-salsa-at-Mexican-restaurants but who has become a spice-phobe shoveled the shrimp in.

Sometimes, we boil the marinade for a few minutes and serve it with bread for dipping.  Yum, yum!

This recipe is a great recipe to serve up during the patriotic week or any time.  My mom loves this recipe, and she was the one to request it.  I suggested we have it for Canada Day, and there you have it.  It is totally yum!

Spicy Citrus Grilled Shrimp

Adapted from Food.com

1/4 cup butter, melted and cooled

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tablespoons sugar

4 oranges, zested and juiced

2 limes, zested and juiced

1/2-1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

2 pounds shrimp, peeled and deveined

Combine all above ingredients except shrimp in a bowl.  Add shrimp to the bowl and stir to coat.  Marinate 15-30 minutes (any longer and the acids will start to “cook” the shrimp).  Grill 1 1/2-2 minutes per side.

This recipe is totally Muffin Approved!

Muffin Approved

What do you think?

