Smothered Chicken

Otherwise known as the dish that was so awesome that I scarfed down all of the servings (well, and the rest of the family did, as well) before I could snap a pic.  I found the recipe at Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms.

To me, this comes under the variety of recipes that Outback Steakhouse’s Alice Springs Chicken and Chili’s Monterey Chicken, that is, chicken seared or grilled, slathered with a sauce or dressing (in Alice Springs Chicken it’s honey mustard, Monterey Chicken has BBQ sauce, and this recipe has Caesar salad dressing–I used the creamy Caesar dressing), topped with cheese and usually bacon with onions of some kind and possibly tomato.

And the best part?!?!  I almost followed the recipe exactly.

Yes.

Almost.

I bought a cheddar-Monterey Jack blend and used that.  Then, I poured extra Caesar dressing in the bottom of the pan and sprinkled some of the extra toppings to make a complex “gravy” for the mashed potatoes I served with them.

The first time I made this recipe, I fell in love.

I didn’t have anywhere for the extra “gravy” to go, so I made sure to serve them with mashed potatoes this time.  And I mean the real thing.  Take the vegetable peeler, peel the potatoes, dice the potatoes, boil the potatoes, drain the potatoes, and mash the potatoes showing no mercy for the potatoes, milk, or butter that melted delightfully in the steaming vat of potato-ey goodness.

The first time I made this recipe, I had intended for the leftovers to be sent to my dad while we kidnapped my mom for a weekend of fun in Dallas.  Umm, there weren’t any leftovers available that time.

So, I made it yesterday and decided to take the meal to my parents’ house.

They both liked it.  Muffin loved the sauce on the potatoes, although he made me leave the green onions off of his.

Smothered Chicken

Mostly Followed from Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms

4-5 chicken breasts (split in half lengthwise if the breasts were humongous like the only ones I can find)

Montreal chicken seasoning (Until this recipe, I was unaware of any Montreal seasoning other than steak)

salt

cheddar-jack blend cheese

2 large ripe Roma tomatoes, petite diced

5 thick-sliced slices of bacon (I used Brookshire’s brand), cooked using your preferred method and crumbled into small pieces or 1/2 of one package of real bacon bits

1 small bunch of green onions, sliced very thinly (including greens)

creamy Caesar salad dressing

olive oil or bacon grease

Prepare chicken breasts for the fridge by halving (if necessary), sprinkling copiously with chicken seasoning and salt, and placing in a bowel to marinate for at least one hour-overnight.  Both times now I have forgotten this step until almost too late, so the marinating time is usually closer to an hour for me.

After the marinating time, preheat a pan (preferably cast iron) to setting 7 with bacon grease or olive oil puddling in the bottom of the pan.  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  When the pan is hot, sear both sides of each piece of chicken for 3-5 minutes per side.  Place the completed pieces (browned and caramelized but not cooked all the way through) on a foil-lined half sheet pan.  Once all pieces are seared, drizzle Caesar salad dressing over each breast.  Using a pastry brush (preferably with silicone bristles), spread the dressing on each breast.  Add more dressing, if necessary, to coat completely each breast.  Drizzle some more around the chicken in the pan.

Sprinkle with cheese (I tend to go fairly heavy on the cheese–the top surface needs to be coated) and then the bacon and the green onion.  Any bacon or green onion leftovers need to be sprinkled in the “empty” areas of the pan.

Bake in the oven for 10 minutes.

After 10 minutes, sprinkle with tomatoes.  Bake an additional 10 minutes.  Serve chicken alongside rice or mashed potatoes topped with the “gravy” you made.

This recipe is Muffin Approved!

Muffin Approved

This meal would also make an excellent Sunday Supper!

2 thoughts on “Smothered Chicken

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday: A Lazy Spring Break Week | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  2. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday: Happy April! | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

