Meal Plan Monday: Pizza and Corn or Corn on Pizza?

Meal Plan Monday

In our family, we love pizza in all of its forms.  We love Pizza Meatball Subs.  We love mini pizzas.  We love pizza grilled cheese.

And, as a carryover from when I was growing up and lived with my parents, we have canned corn with our pizza.

I’m not sure what was the origin of the corn-with-pizza meal concept was, but it’s been that way for as long as I remember.  It was so much a given that I never thought anything of it…until my sister met her future husband.

My now-brother-in-law has never understood the corn with pizza thing.  Josh was kinda taken aback by it, as well.

And that forced me to think:  are we crazy for eating pizza with corn?

A week or so ago the question was answered to my satisfaction.  A coworker saw me eating the pizza rolls from a few weeks back with corn and hooted her approval.  She reminded me that the school district used to serve pizza with corn.  In fact, she went a step further and described how she used to cover her pizza with corn.

I’ll give you a moment to ponder that.

I HAVE GOT TO TRY IT!!!!

Seriously, this next Saturday when we have pizza, I have to try the corn on the pizza thing.

To me, my convo with her PROVES that pizza MUST be served with corn.

‘Nuff said.

So…here is the lovely menu for the week.  I’m continuing to try one-two new dishes a week.

Saturday:  spaghetti and meatballs using Slow Cooker Pizza Meatballs, green salad, bread

Sunday:  dinner at Horseshoe for Muffin’s birthday at The Spread Buffet

Monday:  Josh is off, so he will grill something.

Tuesday:  taco Tuesday (probably with The Lego Movie)

Wednesday:  20 Minute Pork Chop Rice One Pot Recipe (Call Me PMC), green vegetable

Thursday:  hot dogs or leftovers

Friday:  Crock Pot Cashew Chicken (Favorite Family Recipes), rice, eggrolls

Saturday:  Home-Alone-Inspired Filthy Animal Pizza (Foxes Love Lemons), corn! (maybe while viewing Home Alone)

Sunday:  pork loin roast in the slow cooker (using my mom’s method with potatoes, carrots, and onion)

What’s on your meal plan for the week?

What do you think?

