Tip Tuesday: Things to Never Do to Your Oven

Tip Tuesday

This post could also be subtitled, “What the fricassee were you thinking?”

And, in doing this, I thought it was probably a bad idea, but I couldn’t find what I needed so…yeah.  That’s my excuse.

Last Saturday, I made artisan bread.  Yes, the Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day artisan bread boule.  No, I still have not gotten past that recipe.

Well, at one point, you preheat the oven to 450 and place a broiler pan on the bottom rack of the oven to heat up (so that you will add hot water to create steam to create the crust).

The problem was I couldn’t find any of my metal lipped pans.  I could only find my Pyrex one.

Yes.  I can hear countless people banging their heads on walls or hands right now.  Really.

So, I put the pan in the oven, set the oven to 450, and after 20 minutes placed the loaves on the baking stone on the middle rack.  I poured the water into the Pyrex and thought for about a tenth of a second that all was well.

Craaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack.

Boom!

Tinkle tinkle tinkle.

Crunch.

But the bread turned out okay. 🙂

What epic kitchen failures have you been responsible for lately?

What do you think?

