We Plan Wednesday: What I Plan on Doing Differently for Valentine’s Day Next Year

We Plan Wednesday

Valentine’s Day this year (and the build up for it) was very fun.  Mostly.  Sometimes.

Other than Josh working on Valentine’s Day.

And being on call.

And being awakened by Muffin asking where his Valentine’s Advent present was.  And could it be a toy next time?

And realizing that I didn’t quite get the gift ready for the morning.

And desperately trying to find chocolate foil-wrapped “coins” and being told by my sister after I had already left the side of town where a store definitely was…that I needed to go to that store to find them.

And realizing I may have gone a bit overboard on planning and executing the cheese “board” that became a buffet that spanned the bar area.

Yeah.  I went there.

First, I plan on having everything planned out, purchased/made, labeled (with labels printed out), and packaged if necessary before February 1.  Make that January 29 to be on the safe side…next year.  Having to scramble around and locate tape and scissors at 5 in the morning is so not fun.

And scrambling around February 7 to come up with something to replace an unfound item…also not fun.

And the Valentine’s Advent…really should not let Muffin call it that…should be fun for all involved.

I also need to include a toy at some point.  Although, on Valentine’s Day itself, when I added two (finally found) Hot Wheels cars to Muffin’s gift cards and Saints helmet/jersey, would you like to know the present he keeps mentioning to people and (unfortunately) wearing?  The helmet.  He wants to wear the helmet everywhere.  I cannot stress that enough.  Ev-ree-where.

Second:  Josh has agreed that he needs to ask off for Valentine’s Day weekend next year.

Third, we will limit the number of cheeses and accompaniments.  Most sources recommend 3-5.  We ended up with 8.  I think we will have a hard limit at five.  I’m hoping that our Whole Foods will be open by then, so that we don’t have to make the trek to Tyler or Fort Worth to purchase Port Salut.

I leave you with images of the Valentine’s Day spread.  I’ve put them at the end of the post so not to offend.  You will see in tomorrow’s post how it seems that some (more experienced at blogging than I am) have issues with blog photos.

In other words, expect an epic rant.

IMG_0704 IMG_0705 IMG_0706 IMG_0707 IMG_0708 IMG_0709 IMG_0710 IMG_0711 IMG_0712

How was your Valentine’s Day?

What do you think?

