Meal Plan Monday: I Feel As If I’m Losing Steam

Meal Plan Monday

I hope, rather than expect, that this week’s meal plan will be followed to the letter.  I feel as if I’m losing steam, meal plan wise.  It was one of those weeks that, when I looked at the options, I couldn’t think of anything to make.

Have you ever had any of those weeks?

I’ve perused cookbooks, blogs, recipe sites, Pinterest, looked through my old tried-and-trues, and nothing seems to click.

I think part of it is that Josh is on-call for the second week in a row, and I feel as if Muffin and I will be having a string of Josh-less meals this week.  Even though I love cooking yummy offerings for Muffin, at the end of a long day, I’m too tired to do anything for two.

I know this much:  I will spend this week making sure I get my meal-plan mojo back.

I will try PW’s Three Ingredient Brownies as the treat of the week, but I’m thinking that might be a Mama and Muffin making treat later in the week, as we still have Chocolate Chip Crunch Cookies and Bounty Balls.  I also plan on making a coconut-stuffed chocolate muffin later in the week to enjoy for breakfasts and snacks.

I also didn’t do as much prep as I usually do on the weekend.  I have a pot of chicken and sausage gumbo (from a mix) in the fridge as well as the leftovers of a roast going (pork loin, carrots, potatoes, and onions) that will hopefully make a start in getting Josh through the week, lunch-wise.

Here’s the plan:

Saturday:  chicken and sausage gumbo from a Bayou Magic mix (I buy mine locally, in singles, but Amazon does sell it…quite a bit more expensively…in 12 pack batches), French bread from Walmart

Sunday:  pork loin roast (in the slow cooker…Big Bertha!) with potatoes, carrots, and onion; black-eyed peas, cornbread, salad

Monday:  Josh is off but on-call (There is a lot of leftover rice…I’m hoping he makes fried rice)

Tuesday:  Josh is off but on-call (I have a feeling he will grill something)

Wednesday:  leftovers/hot dog/scavenge

Thursday:  leftovers/hot dog/scavenge

Friday:  pizza grilled cheese, corn

Saturday and Sunday:  I really have no clue as yet.  I will be looking for inspiration throughout the week.

As usual, I hope to link up with OrgJunkie’s Menu Plan Monday.

What do you think?

