Meal Plan Monday: The Many Uses of Slow Cooker Refried Beans

Meal Plan Monday

Muffin is a bean-eating boy.  He loves baked beans (that he calls “sweet beans”).  He loves red beans and rice.  He loves refried beans.  He loves refried beans so much that often he will eat refried beans on a taco with “cream” (sour cream), cheese, and nothing else.

I’m okay with that.

By the end of this week, we will have eaten beans (of the refried variety) TWICE!  And Muffin will be as happy as a jumping bean!

If you are familiar with savings blogs and publications like The Tightwad Gazette, you have heard of the beans and rice way of life.  I’m a big believer that such a diet could exist and consumers could still have a wide variety of meals.

There is, of course, the big bean burrito.  This is Muffin’s pick of choice if we ever visit Taco Bell.

I have seen casseroles containing refried beans; after all, isn’t seven-layer dip, in effect, a casserole?  Even though I rarely have them, I like beans on my nachos.

One “recipe” that I’ve wanted to try from my favorite money-saving cookbook Dining on a Dime is to spread refried beans on a slice of bread, sprinkle it with cheese, and broil the “toast” until the cheese melts and all is hot.

So…on to the bean-laden menu:

Saturday:  Margarita Grilled Chicken from The Slow Roasted Italian, beans, salad

Sunday:  Mississippi Roast from Southern Bite, mashed potatoes, peas

Monday:  tacos (with refried beans)

Tuesday:  We will be using our Chick-Fil-A calendar card.  Grilled chicken sandwich and a drink for Josh and me, and nugget meal for Muffin.

Wednesday:  leftover roast, grilled chicken, and taco stuff on a baked potato (Baked Potato Bar)

Thursday:  Josh is off but on-call, so he is going to be deciding and prepping.

Friday:  Josh is off but on-call, so he is going to be deciding and prepping (but probably something pizza-related).

Saturday:  I am tentatively saying soup of some kind, but I’ve been pinning like crazy lately, so I might try something completely new.

Sunday:  A slow cooker roast, veg, and potato of some kind (but, again, I’ve been pinning like crazy, so I might try something completely new.)

I am planning on making a version of Mounds/Bounty bars as the treat of the week.

As usual, I will be posting this entry to OrgJunkie’s Menu Plan Monday:

What do you think?

