Thoughtful Thursday: Am I the Mean LEGO Movie Parent?

Thoughtful Thursday

I’m sure there are more than a few eye rolls going on right now.  She’s writing another post about The LEGO Movie?

Yes.  At the rate I’m going, I could probably write a dissertation on the complexities of the movie and receive my doctorate.  I’m not sure what I would be receiving a doctorate for, but I definitely have enough to write about in mind about the movie to make it dissertation-length.

Okay, to give those who may not have seen the movie 20+ times and counting, let me provide you a bit of background.  I apologize for the spoiler about to happen.

In the movie, you find out that the “LEGO world” is the creation of a little boy playing with his dad’s collection of LEGOs.  His dad is very protective and type-A about his LEGOs to the point that they have to be built correctly, the LEGO sets cannot be broken apart and combined to create new characters and worlds, and he uses Krazy Glue (KraGle) to ensure that everything stays the same…perfectly put together.

I think I’m a bit (okay, more than a bit) guilty of being “that parent.”

For Christmas, Muffin received several LEGO sets.  One day, when I was still trying to finalize plans for the NYE Fiesta, Muffin began playing with one of his new sets, one that he wanted to put together by himself.

I have to add that it was a small TMNT LEGO set with Karai on her motorcycle.  Muffin built the mini-figures (mini-figs) correctly.  He sort of built the motorcycle correctly.  When it came time to create Leonardo’s vehicle, he made a spaceship instead.

Lately, all Muffin creates with LEGOs are spaceships with boo-ers (guns).  Star Wars is kinda a hit at our house among the male population.

So…he created a spaceship in place of Leonardo’s vehicle.

And…I did the “I’m so angry” face and the “I’m never buying you LEGOs again because you did this” face.  And then…I thought about the cautionary tale at the end of the movie.

The dad is the boy’s prototype for Lord Business (the lead bad guy).  Do I really want to be the lead bad guy over something that shows my son’s creativity?  Do I want to be the one that stifles that creativity irrevocably?

Um…no.  To quote a very famous song from a very famous recent Disney movie…I’ve really got to learn to “Let It Go.”  No matter how much I wanted to “make him” rebuild it correctly…I’ve really got to let it go and enjoy the never-ending spaceship-building phase.

What do you think?

What do you think?

