Meal Plan Monday: Prepping Leftovers for Josh’s Oven

Meal Plan Monday

How about this weather, huh?  Sure makes one not want to eat a cold sandwich or salad outside while you work on electronic equipment, huh?

That was my thinking when I bought my favorite Christmas present of Josh’s…the 12-volt vehicle oven.  He’s been enjoying it, and I’ve been trying to come up with cooking options to make plenty of leftovers for him to have options to “cook” in his van.

Josh actually trumped me; if you read yesterday’s Summary Sunday post, you know he made a HUGE pot of spaghetti and was able to fill two loaf pans with meals for the week.

This week my intent is to provide him options.  Also, I hope to try out some recipes as a dry run for the week of comp’ny in June (some have been made before, but many have not).  This is also a hefty make-ahead week.  I have several meetings at work this week, and Josh will be beating me home most days.  Sunday was a busy day around the house trying to prep for the week.

But here’s how it goes:

Saturday:  We met my parents to renew our Sam’s membership and ate the cheapest fast-food meal.

Sunday:  Natchitoches Meat Pies, canned green beans

Monday:  My sister’s method for making my grandmother’s Chicken and Dumplins (a special recipe post forthcoming), veg sticks and dip

Tuesday:  Dr. Pepper pork chops (meaning Muffin will be happy–see below for linky), Missy’s Twice-Baked Potatoes (from Miss Kay’s Duck Commander Kitchen)

Wednesday:  Slow cooker Pizza Meatball Subs, chips

Thursday:  Chicken Spaghetti (Six Sisters’ Stuff), green veg, garlic bread

Friday:  mini pizzas (made from sliced sandwich bread), canned corn

Saturday:  Margarita Grilled Chicken (Thank you, TSRI), beans (as in refried, made in the slow cooker again)

Sunday:  Mississipi Roast (from The Southern Bite cookbook and blog…thank you, Mom, for that lovely cookbook for Christmas!), mashed potatoes, glazed carrots

Special treat for the week:  Chocolate Chip Crunch Cookies (from The Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder by Joanne Fluke…By the way, Hallmark Channel–or Hallmark Movies and Mysteries–has purchased the option to produce a MOVIE based on Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder!  I am so so so very excited!  I may have to have another Joanne Fluke party for the premiere!)

I have hopes of the Natchitoches Meat Pies, the Chicken and Dumplins (probably kept in his thermos), the Dr. Pepper pork chops and Twice Baked Potatoes, the meatballs (as a sub starter), the Margarita Grilled Chicken and beans, the Mississippi Roast and sides, and the Chicken Spaghetti making appearances in his “oven” next week and beyond.  I know I will enjoy some of the leftovers in my lunch in the next week (or so…if I make plates for the freezer!).

I made ahead the Dumplins, the Twice Baked Potatoes, the meatballs, and the chicken spaghetti this weekend (as well as the cookies).

As usual, I hope to link up with OrgJunkie’s Menu Plan Monday:

What do you think?

