Cent Saving Saturday: Online Help, Part 1 (Swagbucks)

Cent Saving Saturday

Welcome to the first edition of CSS in 2015.  I am going to (hopefully) bring you a new idea each week on how to save money.  That is one of the resolutions, after all–to blog faithfully for the series posts.

Today’s tip is one that many of you know about–Swagbucks.  Yes, shortly after Muffin was born, I jumped on the Swagbucks bandwagon.  I faithfully collected codes, searched, answered the Daily Poll, and did NOSOs every…single…day.  My teeth would gnash in frustration when I wasn’t eligible for a 200 Swagbuck survey only to have my heart soar at completing a 75 Swagbuck survey successfully.

A few of my loyal readers are probably scratching their heads.  And thinking–what the heck are Swagbucks?

Well–Swagbucks is a website that awards you rewards points (Swagbucks) for certain activities you complete.  You save up those reward points for gift cards (the Amazon $5 one is still the best deal at 450 Swagbucks) for various places–including gas stations and dining establishments (Burger King, the Darden group, Cracker Barrel, and others).

When I took my unintentional hiatus from Swagbucks a couple of years ago, I think it was because I was fed up with the surveys.  You see, if you complete online surveys, you could receive major Swagbucks (see above).  The only problem was that I rarely qualified for any.  And I would go through a fifteen minute process (several times in one day) to come away with NOTHING.

So, I stepped back.  And away.  And never looked back.

Until a couple of months ago.  I was sifting through the email in my scary Yahoo e-mail address (30,000 and counting), and I saw several emails from Swagbucks.  I thought, it’s near the holiday season, and I could use money for Amazon purchases, so I get back into the swing of things.

I don’t attempt the surveys anymore.  That is my first golden rule of Swagbucks.  If I didn’t work or have Muffin (or a life), I might be able to devote myself to that heartache and time waster.

I don’t beat myself up if I forget to use the Swagbucks site or app daily.  Life happens.  At the beginning of the end the first time around, I faced major guilt at missed opportunities for Swagbucks.

So, what do I do?  I downloaded the app (Swagbucks) and its ancillary (Swagbucks TV) to my phone.  When I wake up around 2 or 3 in the morning to answer that pressing little call of nature, I quickly answer the Daily Poll (worth 1 Swagbuck) and open up the Swagbucks TV app.  I select the “recipe” category and let it run (2 Swagbucks for every 5 videos watched) until I reach my daily allotment (somewhere around 30 Swagbucks).  Then, I use my table to access the website (www.swagbucks.com) and complete the daily NOSOs (No Obligation Special Offers–clicking the “More Offers” button on each until I get to the end, fill in a Captcha code, and receive 2 Swagbucks).  I have the daily goal button activated, and when I cross the 30 Swagbucks mark, I earn 3 bonus Swagbucks.  If I have time, I complete the Daily Crave and Encrave.  I try to put in Swag Codes, but sometimes I don’t see them until it’s too late.

I think, instead of Amazon cards, I’m going to start saving them up for gift cards for Josh for local eating places for when he’s at work (as birthday/Christmas presents).

And now…for the deals…

Albertson’s is having a huge when-you-buy-6 (wyb 6) sale.  I’m going to list the items that are not part of that sale first and then devote a section to those items on the wyb 6 sale.

Boneless skinless chicken breasts $1.68/pound

Chef’s Net Large raw shrimp (frozen)–$4.99/pound sold in a 2 pound bag

Essential Everyday croutons 5/$5

WYB 6 Sale

Grower’s Pride orange juice carton $1.79

Albertson’s cottage cheese $1.99

Essential Everyday frozen veg 88 cents

Essential Everyday pasta 69 cents

Hormel Compleats $1.69

Essential Everyday boxed chicken/beef broth/stock 99 cents

Nabisco crackers/Chips Ahoy $1.88

Albertson’s sandwich bread 79 cents

Brookshire’s

Gala/Fuji apples 99 cents/pound

Roma tomatoes 99 cents/pound

Kroger

Blueberries, pint, 2/$4

Ragu Pasta Sauce 10/$10

Yoplait yogurt 10/$5

Gala apples, 5 pound bag $3.99

Big K 2L Buy 3, Get 1 Free (67 cents each with the four)

7-Up or A&W 2L 88 cents each

What are you planning this week?

What do you think?

