25 Days of Holiday Goodies Day 8: Frogs

25 Days of Christmas Goodies Button

Seven years ago, as Josh’s and my first Christmas together approached, I asked him what Christmas goodies he enjoyed as a child.  His mom had actually given me two recipes that he enjoyed every Christmas that will be shared in the upcoming days.

One that he mentioned was Frogs.  Now, my Southern self had been raised with people eating frog legs (My dad loves them; the visible veins in them scare me).  I had never heard of frogs as a “treat,” so you can imagine the scary place my mind went to.  Then, he said they were made of chocolate, so I imagined a scene fresh out of Harry Potter.

Then, I found a recipe on the site-formerly-known-as-Recipezaar (Food.com).  Frogs, for those as innocent as I previously was, are made of chocolate, oatmeal, and coconut.  And–yes–they are truly yummy and a treat.

Although I still don’t know why they are called Frogs.

Frogs

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1/2 cup milk

1/4 cup butter

2 cups sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup oats

1 cup coconut (sweetened flake)

Put first four ingredients in a pot.  Boil for three minutes exactly.  Turn off heat.  Add remaining ingredients.  Drop by teaspoons onto wax (or parchment) paper-lined cookie sheets.  Chill.

What’s your favorite funny-named treat?

Muffin loves these, by the way.

Muffin Approved

2 thoughts on “25 Days of Holiday Goodies Day 8: Frogs

  1. Pingback: 25 Days of Holiday Goodies Day 26: The Roundup | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  2. Pingback: Tip Tuesday: Homemade Candy Faves! | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

