Meal Plan Monday: Why I’m Thankful for Make-Ahead Meals!

Meal Plan Monday

Recently, my Facebook friends and family were privy to this photo:

Two slow cookers perking away making meals that would not be served that day…or even that week.

The one on the right held Root Beer Pulled Pork using Recipe Girl’s recipe.  The one on the right held the beginnings of Chipotle’s Carnitas from a previous recipe challenge.

This week, after being away at my sister’s for Thanksgiving and arriving home exhausted after family time and shopping and picking out pecans and enjoying myself (and chasing Muffin!), I didn’t do the weekend dinner prep.  I knew this was going to happen and prepped the two slow cookers above for that eventuality…and placed the spoils in the freezer.  This also will be the weekend of putting the tree up which results in snacky eats, many of which will be featured in future posts for the 25 Days of Holiday Goodies.  It is also Josh’s birthday this week, and my parents, as part of our birthday presents, treat us to dinner out.  His birthday is Wednesday, but we are going out Friday for his birthday.  I also work a basketball game this week.  This is a really busy, crazy week!

Sunday:  taco soup (recipe will come soon…I promise)

Monday:  carnitas as tacos

Tuesday:  I work the game (Josh and Muffin are on their own.  I will probably bring something so that I don’t have to worry about leaving the school and getting back on time).

Wednesday:  root beer pulled pork sandwiches (with coleslaw) at my Mom’s (surprise, Mom…if you’re reading this)

Thursday:  leftover taco soup/pulled pork/carnitas

Friday:  Josh’s birthday dinner out

Saturday:  snacky eats for putting up the tree

Sunday:  leftover snacky eats or Pioneer Woman’s Salisbury Steak Meatballs and noodles

Phew!  I think I have it all straight, now.

What do you plan for this week?

What do you think?

