Meal Plan Monday: And the Dish That Made Muffin Ask Me Three Times to Make It Again!

Meal Plan Monday

Yah, you read that title right.  Muffin REALLY, REALLY loved a recipe I tried on Saturday.  He ate two helpings.  He danced around.  He begged me THREE times to make them again.

The recipe?

Dr. Pepper Pork Chops.

Five ingredients not counting salt and pepper.  Two ingredients that include one of Josh’s (and Muffin’s) favorite things on Earth (ketchup) and one of my favorite things on Earth (Dr. Pepper).

Six hours in the slow cooker.

A sweet, thick sauce (after a cornstarch thickener) coats the chops.  The original poster used bone-in chops.  I used chops that Josh cut from a pork loin (that normally would have gone into the “meat factory bee-sheen” to make ground pork), boneless.

I used ‘Red (my 5 quart slow cooker) to make it, but you could have gone even smaller.  I drizzled the chops with extra gravy for serving (and I drizzled the gravy on rice, as well).

Muffin ate it all.

Even the corn and green peas that I had mixed together.

And then he ate another chop.

Dr. Pepper Pork Chops (In the Slow Cooker)

Source:  Debbie Doo’s

6 pork chops (I used chops cut from a boneless pork loin)

12 ounces Dr. Pepper (The original recipe calls for a can and a half and my brain mixed this up to a cup and a half, so my recipe is more “tomatoey,” but Muffin loved it this way.  I have a feeling if I made it next time with the full 18 ounces, I would not be allowed to bring it to the table.)

12 ounces ketchup (half of a standard sized bottle)

2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

salt and pepper, to taste

2 tablespoons cornstarch

In the crock of the slow cooker, whisk together Dr. Pepper, ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, salt, and pepper.  Arrange chops so that they are submerged.  You may have to re-submerge or turn them over during the cooking time.  Cook on LOW for 6 hours.

Half an hour before the 6 hours are up (at the 5 1/2 hour mark), remove roughly two cups of liquid from the crock.  Whisk into the liquid 2 tablespoons cornstarch until there are no clumps of white.  The liquid should thicken immediately to almost loose pudding consistency.  Whisk the thickened liquid back into the slow cooker.  If desired, spoon thickened liquid over the chops to coat.  Serve, drizzled with sauce, alongside rice drizzled with sauce.  Muffin ate his shredded and kept calling it “chicken.”

This is a shot of Muffin enjoying his second helping.

Did I mention this recipe was Muffin Approved?

Muffin Approved

But…back to the purpose of this entry.

This week is one of those crazy weeks.  For the un-United States peeps reading the blog, this is the week of Thanksgiving in the U.S.  I’m off work this week, and Josh is off Tuesday-Thursday.

We are heading to my sister’s on Wednesday (Josh will come back Thursday evening for work on Friday; Muffin and I will return on Saturday with my parents).

So, if things below look a bit crazy…that’s because they are.

Saturday:  Dr. Pepper Pork Chops (in the slow cooker!), rice and gravy, salad, green peas and corn

Sunday:  Rotisserie Chicken in the Crock Pot, stuffing (a la Stove Top), black eyed peas, salad

Monday:  Chicken Enchiladas, Spanish rice (one of the recipes of the December series), refried beans, chips and salsa/pico

Tuesday:  leftovers/clean out the fridge before the trip

Wednesday:  dinner at my sister’s

Thursday:  Thanksgiving dinner

Friday:  Thanksgiving leftovers for breakfast, lunch, and dinner (if I have my way)

Saturday:  Josh prep (He’s off, and Muffin and I will be returning home Saturday afternoon)

Sunday:  chicken taco soup (made from chicken frozen from the previous Sunday’s rotisserie chicken)

If all goes well, I will be posting this to OrgJunkie’s Menu Plan Monday.

What are you planning for this chaotic week?

3 thoughts on “Meal Plan Monday: And the Dish That Made Muffin Ask Me Three Times to Make It Again!

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday: Prepping Leftovers for Josh’s Oven | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  2. Pingback: Tip Tuesday: Kitchen Essentials #1: The Slow Cooker | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  3. Pingback: Tip Tuesday: Sometimes You Must Break the Rules… | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

