Thoughtful Thursday: On the Holidays

image

We are in the midst of the holiday season. Whether you believe it or not, for many people who celebrate Canadian Thanksgiving, the holiday season begins in mid October. I see all of this hater angst about the holiday season on Facebook on Pinterest and all over social media and television media. I don’t understand it. There people who are fighting mad that people have already put up Christmas decorations. I would think the absence of holiday spirit would be worse  then a surplus of it. And yet the reverse seems true. Yes, I am one of those individual who already has Christmas music blaring on the car radio. I have my copy of Elf all ready to play on my mobile device. Muffin has already nagged Josh several times as to when he will put up the Christmas decorations. I have already begun planning the Christmas baking list to do for the season.

I’ve always considered the holiday season to be a reflection on what is best about humanity. Yes I have made sure to watch some of my favorite Christmas movies made by Hallmark and look forward to any new ones that shall be created and shown the season.

That is why it is so disconcerting when people vilify the holiday season. I realize it is stressful season, but the joy of the season brings to others… Family, friends, and virtual strangers that you meet… Far outweighs  the angst the season can cause. 

So if you are a person who could be likened to Ebenezer Scrooge, I ask you this: give the holiday season, it’s joyous participants, its bright lights, and the hope of a better, brighter tomorrow infuse your spirit and your soul with warmth and purpose.  I say to you Merry Christmas!

What do you think?

