Sunday Supper: Oven Fried Chicken With the Fixins

On last Monday’s Meal Plan Monday, I had planned on cooking two recipes from two Junior League of Lafayette cookbooks (Talk About Good and Tell Me More):  Oven Fried Chicken and Corn Pone Pie.  Um.  This was one of those weeks where my weekend cooking didn’t happen.  So that meant that my cooking plans went completely awry.  Neither got made last weekend.  Prep work for the remaining meals was kaput.  A lot of eating off of the meal plan happened…which means eating out.  The good news is…that made planning this week that much easier.

Back on went both dishes…the chicken for today and the Corn Pone Pie for Monday.  And I managed to prep the chili for the corn pone pie…not quite as good as my chili attempts…but not bad.  Tomorrow all I’ll have to do is dump the chili mixture in the pan, mix up the corn bread mix, pour it over, and bake for a bit at 375.

Easy peasy cheesy.  Might add cheese to the mix to make it that much better.  See?  That’s how things go south on me following recipes.  I over think the recipes.

Once upon a time my mom would make oven fried chicken fairly often.  It’s one of the smells that is still locked tight in my olfactory bank as the epitome of comfort food.  She always cooked it in her convection oven that was roughly the same size as a large microwave.  She would cook it in shortening and turn it patiently throughout cooking.  It was delicious.

The recipe in Talk About Good used butter as the fat medium…and far less than Mom’s shortening method…only 1 stick (1/2 cup).  I wasn’t sure that would be enough, so I had Josh coat the foil-lined pan with shortening.  (A backyard hole managed to snag my foot yesterday making today’s weekly meal prep problematic.  And painful.)  Other than that, I followed the recipe (although I think next time I might use plain breadcrumbs and season them myself).

Here were the photogenic results (served with Loaded Scalloped–boxed–Potatoes, greens, and a dollop of red pepper jelly in lieu of cranberry sauce or ligonberry preserves from IKEA):

IMG_0050[1] IMG_0051[1]

Now, the chicken was Muffin Approved.  But oddly enough, his favorite part was the “leaves off of the trees” (greens) because they were his favorite color, green.  That was the only thing he ate a second helping of.

IMG_0052[1]

And yes…I did drink my swee’tea out of a champagne flute.  It should be the serving vessel of choice for all Southern princesses.  And, yes, for those of you who have read the blog since the beginning, Josh made the tea.

I’ve decided, also, that pepper jelly is a perfectly acceptable substitute for cranberry sauce or ligonberry preserves.  Of course, I believe pepper jelly is a great cure all for all ills.  I recently found a jar of it for less than $2 at Walmart (as I was in a desperate search to cover some nekkid cream cheese to spread on a cracker for a baby shower).  We may have devoured a second log of pepper jelly-coated cream cheese with crackers yesterday.  Just possibly.  Luckily there was just enough to eat with supper tonight.

P.S.:  Pepper jelly goes great with greens and oven fried chicken…jus’ sayin’.

A…ny…way…

Here’s what I did…with the chicken…

Oven Fried Chicken

Source:  Talk About Good, The Junior League of Lafayette, Louisiana

page 225…if you were wondering (And yes…Like most Junior League cookbooks…this one is worth the buy)

chicken pieces (I used 4 meaty thighs and 4 meaty drumsticks)

2 eggs, well beaten with 2 tablespoons of water

1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese (I went fancy and used the good stuff…shredded…from Sam’s)

2 cups Italian style bread crumbs

1 stick butter, melted

salt, pepper, onion salt and garlic powder to taste

Pat chicken dry.  Mix dry ingredients.  Dip chicken into egg-water mixture and press all “sides” of the chicken in crumbs until well coated.  Re-roll in crumbs as necessary.  Place in foil-lined jelly roll pan (or something with a higher lip…trust me) which has been lightly greased with shortening.  Spoon butter carefully over the tops of the chicken pieces (the butter will slide off if you just drizzle it on…think more of a “floating” maneuver with alcoholic drinks).  Bake at 325 for one hour.

Now…as we did all dark meat…it was still incredibly juicy.  I would think it would still be so with white meat, but I cannot guarantee it.

As a side note…I am presently enjoying iced tea cooled with lemon sorbet.  Great fun.  I didn’t take a picky, but it’s really good.  And a refreshing treat to blog to.

As I said, this meal was Muffin Approved, especially the greens.

Muffin Approved

What was your Sunday Supper this week?

What do you think?

