Meal Plan Monday: Trying out Old Cookbooks

Meal Plan Monday

While both of my previous challenges focused on trying new recipes from online sources, I figured it was time to dust off some culinary jewels off of my kitchen bookshelf.  Am I the only one with a kitchen bookshelf?  Really, it is most convenient to have your cookbooks in the kitchen.  For inspiration, if nothing else.

This week, I am focusing on two such diamonds in my collection, products of the Junior League of Lafayette, Louisiana.  The first is called Talk About Good, from which I have obtained the Oven Fried Chicken recipe.  Its sequel is called Tell Me More; it includes an intriguing receipt for corn pone pie (basically a homemade chili topped with a cornbread crust).

Yesterday, we enjoyed a semi-homemade treat:  shrimp sundried tomato fettuccine Alfredo.  I used already-made Alfredo sauce, but I steeped a handful of minced sundried tomatoes in the creamy goo.  I used precooked frozen shrimp and sizzled them in a bit of the olive oil from the sundried tomatoes, then tossed the pasta and shrimp in the sauce.  I served it with a side of dip-able veggies obtained from the reduced produce section of Kroger.

Here’s the meal plan for the week:

Sunday:  Shrimp with fettuccine and sundried tomato, veggies

Monday:  Corn Pone Pie (from Tell Me More)

Tuesday:  spaghetti (Josh cooks)

Wednesday:  leftovers or hot dogs or pulled pork sandwiches

Thursday:  breakfast for supper

Friday:  pizza of some type

Saturday:  grilled something or fish and fries

Sunday:  Oven fried chicken (from Talk About Good), turnip greens, rice and gravy

My goal is to link up to OrgJunkie’s Menu Plan Monday, but that depends on how busy tomorrow is.

What’s your plan this week, Stan?

 

One thought on “Meal Plan Monday: Trying out Old Cookbooks

  1. Pingback: Sunday Supper: Oven Fried Chicken With the Fixins | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

