Meal Plan Monday: Back to Work Full-Time

Meal Plan Monday

This week brings a return to work full time.  I am planning to make it a fairly low-key foodie week, with a three-in-one meal of chili and prep for the chili and another dish on the weekend.

I hope to compile a list in next week’s Meal Plan Monday post that will detail foods that can be prepped on the weekend and either compiled and cooked quickly on the weekday or cooked completely on the weekend and reheated on the weekday.  This list will help me and others prepare for the busy meals of the week.

But here is the best I could scratch up for the week:

Saturday:  La Madeleine’s Tomato-Basil soup and grilled cheese sandwiches

Sunday:  fried rice

Monday:  Texas Hash (prepped Sunday):  See the recipe below.

Tuesday:  chili (prepped Sunday) and cornbread

Wednesday:  Frito pies with leftover chili

Thursday:  chili cheese dogs with leftover chili with any vegetables ready from the garden

Friday:  Pizza grilled cheese with pasta sauce for dipping (may save some of the pineapple to do a Hawaiian one again)

Saturday:  grilled hot wings and fries (maybe with grilled baked beans)

Sunday:  burgers (I want to do something special with them.  Maybe I will check out some of The Slow Roasted Italian‘s recipes)

Growing up, one of my favorite dinners was my mom’s Texas Hash.  I doubt it will have ground beef this time (I may use ground pork or ground turkey).  I loved the idea of the meat and rice and tomatoey goodness and the bell pepper and onion and the most exotic spice of my early childhood…chili powder!  Chili powder was great for many things when I was young:  Texas Hash, chili, taco seasoning, and sprinkled in my mom’s and grandmother’s variations of beefy vegetable soup.  As I grew older (and we purchased a microwave), the preparation was even faster.  This is a great one-dish meal that is great with the pineapple-cheese salad.

But, here it is:

(Mom’s Texas Hash, that is)

Family Heirloom Recipes

Texas Hash
(Adapted from my mom)

1 pound ground beef (or turkey or pork), browned and crumbled

1 cup rice (before cooking), cooked according to package directions (Mom now uses brown rice, but my favorite method of preparation is white rice.)

one large bell pepper, diced

one large onion, diced (preferably white or yellow)

one 8-ounce can tomato sauce

one can (14-16 ounces) diced tomatoes (I used petite diced)

one tablespoon (or to taste) chili powder (Make sure you use chili with an “i” rather than an “e” and that you use chili powder, not chili seasoning)

Brown and crumble the ground meat.  In a large casserole dish (microwave safe if you are using the microwave, oven-safe if you are using an oven) combine meat, rice (cooked), and chili powder.  Taste and add more chili powder, if desired (but keep in mind if you are preparing this for a spice-phobe that cooking the dish will intensify the heat slightly).  Zap in the microwave (or saute in a pan sprayed with nonstick cooking spray) the onion and bell pepper until softened.  Stir this mixture into the meat and rice.  Stir in the tomato sauce and undrained can of tomatoes.  Either microwave for 6-8 minutes or bake at 350 for 30 minutes.  If you prepare ahead of time, prep it to this point and then bake in a 350 degree oven for 40-50 minutes (or until heated through).

Serve with taco sauce, extra chili powder, salsa/picante sauce, sour cream (Josh), or ketchup.  I’ve been known to drizzle it with a bit of honey when I was younger (for that sweet heat feel).  This goes well with the pineapple cheese salad and bread and butter.

As usual, I will be linking up with OrgJunkie’s Menu Plan Monday.

What is on your meal plan this week?

What do you think?

