Meal Plan Monday: Back to the Drawing Board

Meal Plan Monday

Um.  I had made this great meal plan for this week.  And then I purchased three of the roasts from Albertson’s at $1.99/pound.  And decided I needed to make one on Saturday.  And then I found this super awesome Roast Beef Debris recipe that I plan on even extending into today.  Needless to say, the meal plan went out the window before I could even post it.  I’m going to eat this roast until it’s gone, basically.  It really helped this weekend when Josh was on call and kept getting called in/working late.

The only problem with Crock Pot cooking in the summer:  Josh (and I, too, to some extent) REALLY don’t want to eat anything hot…because it’s so hot.  Kinda sad, huh?  Basically, we are all about the liquid refreshment when it gets this hot.

And I did sort of break the Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen rules with the Roast Beef Debris…because I broiled the bread.  But it is good golly fabooooo!  Think roast beef po boy dripping with juices…butter…mayo…creole mustard…and stacked with as many veg as you wish.  Which in my opinion means heavy on the tomato and red onion…and not so heavy on the shredded lettuce.

I’m going to post the meal plan as I think it’s going to go for this week.  By the way…if you live in an area where Walmart is stocking its French bread on rollback for $1…this Roast Beef Debris recipe makes excellent use of it (I used the sesame loaf).

Saturday:  Roast beef on toasted hamburger buns (kinda open face) with salad greens and dressing (I made the roast beef by slapping it in the slow cooker covered in fresh cracked pepper, a packet of brown gravy mix, a bay leaf, and about 1/4 cup dried minced onions on LOW until done.)

Sunday:  Roast Beef Debris, veggies from a reduced veggie tray at Kroger (mini sweet peppers, grape tomatoes, sugar snap peas, carrots, and broccoli) with southwestern ranch dressing to dip (We also had a bag of chips that we took with us at our picnic by the neighborhood pool…but we didn’t open them)

Yes, it did taste as good as it looked.  I used Zatarain’s creole mustard.

Monday:  Roast Beef Debris again (because I loved it so much and Josh said it would be okay to have again…I just don’t think he meant we would have it the next day), veg tray and dip (with cukes and green onions added)

Tuesday:  roast beef over rice, peas prepared in the slow cooker (from frozen)

Wednesday:  either leftover roast beef (or, I promise, this is the week for the Pesto Ranch Chicken) with Fully Loaded Potato Salad (both mentioned on last week’s meal plan)

Thursday:  Tamale Pie in the Crockpot (from Jyl Steinback’s The Busy Mom’s Slow Cooker Cookbook, page 79) or Pesto Ranch Chicken (I really feel guilty about not trying this one yet)

Friday:  Pizza Grilled Cheese prepared on the electric skillet outside

Saturday:  Grilled Lemon and Garlic Chicken from Inspired magazine (from Foodland), page 19

Sunday:  Taco Soup (from the Oak Alley Plantation Cooking cookbook, page 70)

As usual, I will be linking up with OrgJunkie’s Menu Plan Monday.

What are you planning this week?

What do you think?

