Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Chef Salad with Honey Mustard Dressing

Please Don't Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge

Muffin has been doing better eating salads lately.  Before a few weeks ago, he would say that he didn’t “yike” (like) “sayad” (salad)…meaning lettuce.  He loves some of the other components of salad, especially main dish salads, like meat…and cucumbers…and cheese…and tomatoes.  Recently, though, he has started stealing lettuce leaves off of anyone’s plate…his dad’s…my dad’s…mine…and munching.  Josh and I are definitely going through a salad phase…especially on days when it seems to hot and muggy for anything else, like yesterday.

I was super jazzed when I found a recipe for honey mustard dressing recently on Life in the Lofthouse.  Josh loves honey mustard dressing, but my few attempts at making it have been…well…let’s just say epic fail doesn’t quite cover it.  This recipe was really smooth, creamy, and delish!  (Plus, the chef salad that she photographed to put it on was beautiful.)

Of course, I had to change it up.  (Yes, I hear you groaning and grumbling)  First of all, hard boiled egg doesn’t seem in the spirit of the challenge.  And I don’t really have much luck hard boiling eggs.  And they kind of freak me out unless they are deviled or smooshed up really fine in cornbread dressing or salads.  As in…don’t let me see chunks or slices.  Let’s just chalk it up to a REALLY bad school cafeteria tuna salad experience (where they left very identifiable slices of hard boiled egg in).  And the grape tomatoes I binge purchased are starting to go a bit south.  And I had English cucumber.  And thin sliced ham and turkey (although I did purchase the correct varieties).  So, I apologize that mine is not as picture perfect.

On the honey mustard front, I did not have any poppy seed dressing (or, if I do, it is somewhere in the bowels of the fridge), but when you leave it out, it makes it more traditionally honey mustard.  It’s just not as picturesque as Life in the Lofthouse’s version.

By the way, this recipe was so Muffin Approved.  When Josh and I were finished eating, he was still munching away.  We served his dressing on the side so that he could dip.

Here’s my version of the events.

Chef Salad with Honey Mustard Dressing

Adapted from Life in the Lofthouse

1/4 pound honey ham, sliced and then diced

1/4 pound oven-roasted turkey breast, sliced then diced

1 English cucumber, sliced in thin slices

1 head Romaine lettuce, ribs removed from leaves and then leaves shredded

1 cup grape tomatoes, quartered lengthwise

1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded (don’t use pre-shredded)

Arrange attractively on plates.  Drizzle with honey mustard dressing.

Honey Mustard Dressing

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1/4 cup prepared yellow mustard

5 tablespoons honey

Whisk together mayonnaise and mustard until creamy.  Drizzle honey over mixture and whisk again to blend.  Serve over salad or as a dip for chicken fingers.

Muffin Approved

What do you think?

