Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Simple Crockpot Chicken and Dumplings

Please Don't Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge

(Ducks the arrows that I know are coming)  My grandmother was known for her chicken and dumplings.  My sister continued to perfect my grandmother’s chicken and dumplings after she was married.  My uncle made chicken and dumplings before he passed away.

This is not their chicken and dumplings.

I do plan on posting my sister’s/grandmother’s/uncle’s version once the weather cools down and I need to heat up the kitchen and the rest of the house.  For today, I am relying on a slow cooker version from the Slow Roasted Italian.  There are elements that are (sorta) close to my grandmother’s version, although my grandmother did not add bay leaves, parsley, poultry seasoning, or onion powder.  This is not as veggie filled as some versions (my grandmother’s included no veggies and was usually served with a version of a salad).  There are a few (glaring) differences.  Grandmother always used a whole cut-up chicken.  This recipe calls for boneless skinless breasts.  She boiled the chicken in water to make the broth that was used as the backbone of the sauce.  This one calls for canned or homemade broth separately and the chicken cooks in the sauce.  My grandmother’s recipe uses cut dumplins (no, that is not a typo).  This one uses scooped ones.

The cooking actually finished closer to 2:00, but I hadn’t eaten lunch yet (and knew I had to try them).

Update:  I have now eaten them.  And although I love my grandmother’s chicken and dumplins (now my sister’s chicken and dumplins) best, I’m okay with these as a Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen substitute.  I am a bit undecided on the drop dumplins.  I think I might need to use my grandmother’s actual dumplin recipe and cut them in strips so that they will be more familiar.  These were a bit doughy…think really big gnocchi…cloud shaped and puffy.  Still, I liked them.

I actually kept (fairly) close to the original recipe (hahaha), but I did make a few alterations (namely using up things and leaving out some things I don’t normally have in the kitchen).  Follow along with the original if you want to see where I veered.

Simple Crockpot Chicken and Dumplings

Adapted (pretty strictly) from the Slow Roasted Italian

2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breasts, uncooked

2 cans cream of chicken soup (I really want to do the homemade kind next time and use three cups of that)

4 cups chicken broth

1 1/4 cups chicken stock

3/4 cup evaporated milk

1 chicken-flavored bouillon cube

3 tablespoons butter

2 teaspoons onion powder

2 bay leaves

1 teaspoon parsley flakes

1/2 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper

1 recipe dumplings

In your slow cooker, soup and the seasonings (except for the bay leaves).  Stir in melted butter.  Slowly add in broth/stock/evaporated milk, stirring to remove lumps.  Stir in bay leaves and place in chicken breasts.  Cover and cook on high for 5 hours, stirring occasionally.  I had to go out of the house for most of this process, so I only stirred once an hour before the timer went off.  Remove chicken and shred it, returning it to the slow cooker crock.  This is easy since the chicken is tender from the slow cooking.  Add dumplings with a tablespoon scooper (I would use something smaller), and cook on low for 1 hour.  Do not stir until done cooking.

Dumplings

2 cups flower

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1 tablespoon butter

3/4 cup milk

1/4 cup water (I eyeballed the 3/4 cup in a one-cup measuring cup and added in water to the top)

Combine first three ingredients.  Using finger tips, massage in butter until the mixture is the consistency of clumpy cornmeal.  Stir in liquid ingredients with a fork until a ball forms.

To me, chicken and dumplins is the ultimate comfort food.  We often served it with a special salad (that I hope to make and post shortly).

This recipe is Muffin Approved.

What is your favorite comfort food?

Muffin Approved

2 thoughts on “Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Simple Crockpot Chicken and Dumplings

  1. Pingback: Family Heirloom Recipes: Pineapple and Cheese Salad | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  2. Pingback: Tip Tuesday: Kitchen Essentials #1: The Slow Cooker | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

