Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Crock Pot Pork Tips and Gravy

Please Don't Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge

I can’t even pretend that I followed the recipe tonight.  I even changed the title.  And the main protein.  But pork was cheap…and it was pork tenderloin tips.  So it was sooooooooooo tender.  Then, Josh went to find the cream of mushroom in the garage, but he couldn’t find it, so I used cream of chicken.  Then, I didn’t want to dissolve bouillon in water, and I had chicken stock…yah…I know.

It was a great recipe.  I even made my own onion soup mix from Good Cheap Eats.  I needed something fast to make with the ingredients I had on hand, and I really like what the thyme did to the mixture of the gravy as a whole (and that it didn’t have as much salt).

But here’s what I did.

Crock Pot Pork Tips and Gravy (over rice)

Adapted from The Country Cook

1 1/2 pounds of pork loin or pork tenderloin, cubed

1 1/2 tablespoons lemon pepper seasoning

1 package of dry onion soup mix (I used two tablespoons of the version at Good Cheap Eats)

1 can cream of chicken soup

2 cups chicken stock or broth or one can of beef broth (14 oz)

Combine last four ingredients in the crock pot.  Whisk to combine.  Add meat to crock pot and give it all a good stir.  Cover and cook on low for 8 hours.

Serve over rice, mashed potatoes, or egg noodles.

The original poster recommends thickening the sauce, but since I’m trying not to heat up the kitchen any more than necessary, I decided not to.

Muffin did eat this pretty well (I think he may have left a bit of the rice and corn, but he ate all of the meat), so I can safely consider this Muffin Approved.

Muffin Approved

This is slow cooker comfort food at its finest!

What is your favorite slow cooker comfy food?

2 thoughts on “Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Crock Pot Pork Tips and Gravy

  1. Pingback: Crock Pot Pork Tips and Gravy – Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The …

  2. Pingback: Tip Tuesday: Kitchen Essentials #1: The Slow Cooker | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

