Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Memphis BBQ Chopped Salad

Please Don't Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge

I realize now that I was really pushing it Muffin-wise with two salad nights in a row (even though last night was a pasta salad).  He actually did eat the chicken, the cheese, and the cucumbers from the salad, so I consider it a success.  Plus, he liked the dressing.  With this salad the time cruncher is the chopping of the salad ingredients.  This is not an after-work recipe.  This is a chop-it-all-the-night-before-so-it-can-be-assembled-after-work salad.

But…it didn’t heat up the kitchen, so it’s a win.

I, of course, didn’t follow the recipe exactly.  I used Stubb’s sticky sweet barbecue sauce instead of Bull’s Eye Memphis sauce.  I used a regular cucumber instead of an English one.  I used grape tomatoes instead of cherry, and store-brand shredded cheddar for the cheese.  Since I had planned-overs for the barbecue chicken Josh grilled the other day, I used some of that in the salad.  And I arranged the salad Cobb-style in rows like I did Josh’s the other day, rather than layering it.  Much nicer presentation for smaller amounts.  Maybe if I were serving it at a potluck or a cookout, I would layer it.

Memphis BBQ Chopped Salad

Adapted from Kraft Recipes

1/4 cup Stubb’s Sticky Sweet BBQ sauce

1/4 cup Kraft Homestyle Ranch Dressing

6 cups chopped iceberg lettuce (about 1/2 head)

4 green onions, thinly sliced

1 cucumber, sliced thinly (I peeled stripes off so it had a neat dashed effect on the circumference of each slice)

2 cups grape tomatoes, halved

2 cups frozen corn, thawed, drained

1 1/2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

2 1/2 cups diced barbecued chicken

Mix together barbecue sauce and ranch dressing.

On each plate, lay down a bed of lettuce.  For Muffin, it was a thin layer.  For me, it was a thicker layer.  For Josh, I lay a nice thick bed.  Arrange the toppings decoratively on the bed of lettuce (I did rows mostly, like Cobb Salad).  Drizzle with dressing.  Enjoy!

I should also note that after dinner Muffin harvested two tomatoes from the garden…one a Roma and the other is an underdeveloped beefsteak.

Here are some more shots of the chopped parts:

This recipe was Muffin Approved!

Muffin Approved

What is your favorite salad?

One thought on “Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Memphis BBQ Chopped Salad

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday: A New Chipotle-Inspired Twist on an Old Fave | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

