Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Crockpot Macaroni and Cheese (Failure…Then Redemption)

Please Don't Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge

You may notice that I didn’t make a post for the challenge on Tuesday or yesterday.  Until this morning, I had not found a recipe for cornbread in the crock pot that I would feel comfortable with.  So, I didn’t make the cornbread dressing.  I do plan on making it soon, however.

I did make the Chicken Parmigiana meatloaf.  I followed the instructions exactly.  At four hours, it was bubbling beneath the lid, and I was so excited that it was going to be so delicious, but it seemed almost done to me.  But, I’m not the Crock Pot expert.  And the recipe came from a blog who got it from the cookbook of the blog expert that said cook the thing on LOW for 7-8 hours.  At 7.5 hours, it was beyond toast.  Have you ever eaten an Italian meatloaf burnt beyond recognition?  I mean black mozza on top.  Not brown.  Black.  It tasted sour…and worse.

We ate pizza at Johnny’s Pizza Tuesday night.

I didn’t take a picture of the meatloaf; I was so disappointed.  I have NEVER had such an epic fail in the slow cooker.  I do plan to remake it again, but cut it off at four or five hours.

The recipe tonight meant redemption after that failure.  Muffin ate every bite.  Josh loved it (with ketchup).  I liked it enough to consider replacing my normal macaroni and cheese with this at Canadian Thanksgiving.

Three points to note.  1)  This is a mix it all up in the crock recipe (like the ziti).  2)  One thing the original poster mentions is that you need to really try to break up the lumps.  I didn’t.  I think next time I will use the hand mixer and really break it down to avoid the lumps.  It kinda gets a cottage cheesy (or ricotta) texture if you don’t.  3)  This is not a “fix it and forget it” crock pot recipe.  You kind of have to babysit it a bit.  We served the mac and cheese as a side for some of the leftover grilled margarita chicken.

So…without further ado…

Crockpot Macaroni and Cheese

Source:  Family Fresh Meals

(I’m going to suggest the order of adding the ingredients)

1 box or bag of large elbow macaroni pasta

4 tablespoons butter, softened

4 cups cheddar cheese (I would use a medium or a mild next time)

4 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature

1 1/2 cup milk (I used 2%)

12 ounces evaporated milk

1/4 cup sour cream

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1/2 teaspoon paprika

Using a hand mixer (which I didn’t but I will do next time), blend softened butter and cream cheese in the crock until creamy.  Add sour cream and blend until combined and creamy.  Add in seasonings, blending until mixed.  Slowly (a few tablespoons at a time) blend in the evaporated milk.  Make sure there are no lumps.  Use the evaporated milk container to measure out the 1 1/2 cups regular milk (it’s the same amount).  Blend in slowly to make sure there are no lumps.

Stir in macaroni.  Cover with cheese.  Do not stir the cheese yet.  Cover with the slow cooker lid and set to LOW for two hours.  One hour later, stir the macaroni thoroughly so that it doesn’t stick or scorch.  Stir again half an hour later.  Leave on warm until ready to serve.

Muffin ate more of the macaroni than he did of the chicken (actually all of the macaroni).  So this recipe is definitely Muffin Approved.

Muffin Approved

What do you like in your macaroni and cheese?

2 thoughts on “Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Crockpot Macaroni and Cheese (Failure…Then Redemption)

  1. Pingback: Cent Saving Saturday: Meatless Meals? | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  2. Pingback: Tip Tuesday: Kitchen Essentials #1: The Slow Cooker | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

