Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Twinkie Strawberry Shortcake

Please Don't Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge

This recipe, to the best of my memory, is my own creation.  Years ago, I came up with this shortcut method for strawberry shortcake.  Yes, I know, shortcake is supposed to be more biscuit-like and not sweet.  But I like my shortcake to be…cakey.  And using a Twinkie was a great way to make cakey, creamy strawberry shortcakes without heating up the kitchen (or cracking an egg).

Imagine my panic and dismay when the great downfall of Hostess occurred a while back.  I was steamed.  I still think the people to blame (and I’m not talking about the former business owners) should be held accountable for their actions.  I thought I would never be able to make my shortcut dessert again.  Or Minion cupcakes…which I still have not made but are taunting me all over the Pinteresting Blogosphere.

I was thrilled when I saw Twinkies back on the shelves.  Even the Great Value and Little Debbie varieties had been in short supply.  I actually didn’t make any at all last summer.

Then came Friday’s leftover dinner at my parents’ house.  My dad was so thrilled by all of the food that he asked, “So, what did you bring for dessert?”

Ummm…I had not considered yet making a no-bake dessert.  I thought fast, and the Twinkie Strawberry Shortcake was the first thing that came to mind.

So, today, I pulled out all the stops.  I had purchased real heavy whipping cream to whip to submission (and stiff peaks) in my Kitchen Aid.  I had a pound of strawberries to slice.  I had the box of Twinkies.  I was good to go.

And I got to macerate strawberries.  I love the word macerate.  I love the effect of the maceration.  Jewel red moist and sweet strawberries in their own sweet juice.  Even if the strawberries were hard little rocks to begin with.

I made each of us a huge concoction of it, garnished with a big strawberry.  And…just as with the Little Debbie cakes…the Twinkie made it taste all chemically.  😦  I manfully ate it because it was still better than no strawberry shortcake, but it was not as good as it was before my body and taste buds decided they didn’t like processed foods.  The whipped cream and strawberries were pretty awesome, though.  It should be noted that Muffin loved it although he decided he liked the Twinkie best.

Here’s what I did.

Twinkie Strawberry Shortcake

from Me!

1 pound strawberries, divided

2-3 tablespoons granulated sugar

1 cup heavy whipping cream

1-2 tablespoons powdered sugar

Twinkies (2 per shortcake)

Reserve three strawberries (or one for each serving you are making) with stem end.  Slice remaining strawberries into four-to-five slices per berry.  Toss in a medium-sized bowl with sugar.  Set aside to macerate for a few hours.

Shortly before assembly (but can be done a half hour in advance), place whipping cream and powdered sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer (or in a bowl to beat with a hand mixer).  Attach your whisk attachment.  Set your stand mixer to STIR until the powdered sugar is incorporated into the cream.  Kick the speed up to 4, then to 6, as the mixture becomes more foamy.  When it starts to have small bubbles and the mixture resembles cotton (or marshmallow creme), kick the speed up to high until you make stiff peaks.

Open and halve two Twinkies.  Make an X with the twinkies, leaving a square space in the middle on a plate.  Fill the square space with strawberries, and then spoon strawberries over each half of Twinkie.  Drizzle on extra sweetened strawberry juice over the cakes and the plate.  Using a small cookie scoop, scoop “scoopfuls” of whipped cream, first onto the square space filled with strawberries and then anywhere else your heart desires.  Place one reserved strawberry onto the mound of cream over the square space.

Enjoy wallowing in sweetened strawberries, heavenly puffs of whipped cream, and cake.

Muffin Approved

I get the cutest fonts from Free Scrapbook Fonts! kevinandamanda.com/fonts

 

I linked up here.

What is your favorite easy-to-make, kitchen air conditioner friendly dessert?

One thought on “Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Twinkie Strawberry Shortcake

  1. Pingback: We Plan Wednesday: MIL and SFIL Trip 2017!!! | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

