Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Biscoff Baked Oatmeal in the Slow Cooker

Please Don't Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge

I really really really pretty much followed a recipe…ingredients-wise, that is.  My goal, as you know, is to not heat up the kitchen this summer.  Baking something in the oven would heat up the kitchen.  Therefore, if an oven recipe can be converted to the slow cooker…so much the better.

Long ago, I had bookmarked Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures’s Biscoff Baked Oatmeal.  I was hoping to find more slow cooker breakfast ideas when I looked through all of my recipe bookmarks…and I do mean all…to find recipes for the challenge.  I saw this one, and I knew I wanted to make it, but it involved the oven preheated and then on at 350 for a while.  That was a no-go.  But it got me to thinking…if I mix it all up and put it in my slow cooker, how could I convert it, cooking-wise, to the slow cooker?

My goal was to mix it all up last night.  HA!  Cleaning as hard as I did yesterday caused me to be tired and in a world of pain.  So, I pretty much passed out cold last night.  Around 4:00, I woke up and remembered that I had not even set it up to cook.  So, I rapidly went into the kitchen and mixed it all up (and easy mix), sprayed “Red,” spread it all in the bottom, and set it to high.  I figured in an hour or so it would be done (since the original recipe has very little cooking time in the oven).  After an our, the edges were brown (heading to burnt), but the middle was not done.  I stirred it and then checked back half an hour later.  Done!

Verdict:  Muffin ate every bite of his (with milk).  Josh ate more than he has lately (he has a touch of pneumonia which has made it hurt to swallow) of anything.  I liked it, too.  I mean…it has Biscoff spread.  I love Biscoff in any form (spread or cookies), so this made it all good.

This was not as “hands off” as most slow cooker recipes, but I think if I had a timer delay (like for the lights when you are out of town), I could start it about an hour before wake-up on a lazy Saturday and then be able to stir as necessary.  It did meet the qualification that it did not heat up the kitchen, however.

I have bookmarked an arsenal of baked oatmeal recipes, so I look forward to trying them in the slow cooker.

Here’s how it happened.

Biscoff Baked Oatmeal (in the Slow Cooker)

Adapted from Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures

1 1/2 cups quick cooking oats
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup milk
1 tablespoon butter, melted
1 egg
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup Biscoff Spread

In a bowl slowly combine milk, Biscoff spread, and vanilla.  Dissolve brown sugar in liquids, stirring to combine and breaking up any brown sugar lumps.  Stir in melted butter.  Fold in oats, baking powder, and salt.  Stir in egg.  Once fully combined, spray your smallest slow cooker with non-stick cooking spray.  Spread the mixture into the bottom of the slow cooker.  Set to high.  Cover.  After one hour of cooking time, stir the mixture.  Cook 30 minutes more.  Stir again after thirty minutes, making sure that the mixture is no longer liquidy.  Serve in a bowl with a bit of milk or cream (if feeling particularly decadent) and fresh fruit.  Enjoy!

This recipe is definitely Muffin Approved.

Muffin Approved

How do you like your oatmeal?

I get the cutest fonts from Free Scrapbook Fonts! kevinandamanda.com/fonts

3 thoughts on “Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Biscoff Baked Oatmeal in the Slow Cooker

  1. Pingback: Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: The Best-Ever Grilled Margarita Chicken | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  2. Pingback: Tip Tuesday: Kitchen Essentials #1: The Slow Cooker | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  3. Pingback: We Plan Wednesday: MIL and SFIL Trip 2017!!! | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

