Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Chicken Salad

Please Don't Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge

Guess what?  I made another meal in the new recipe challenge.  Did I follow the recipe exactly?  Um, no.  About as much as I follow The Slow Roasted Italian’s Pico de Gallo, in fact.  This is another one of those “inspired by” recipe postings.  The recipe in question today comes from The Sisters Cafe, Aunt Ginny’s Chicken Salad.

The upshot is that I had purchased the pineapple, but I couldn’t bring myself to use it.  I just thought the salad would be too sweet at that point.  Then, I made more chicken than the recipe required, and I shredded it instead of dicing it.  Then I added more grapes to compensate for the lack of pineapple.  And added a few extra slices of almond.  And not as much celery because I was tired of chopping (plus, we’ve been cleaning all day).

The verdict is that everyone liked it.  It had several of Muffin’s favorite things in it:  almonds, celery, chicken, and grapes.

Chicken Salad

Very Loosely Adapted from The Sisters Cafe

4 cups cooked chicken, shredded

3 cups grapes, halved

1 rib celery diced

1/2-3/4 cup sliced almonds

3/4 cup mayonnaise

1 1/2 tablespoons white vinegar

1/2 tablespoon olive oil

pepper, to taste

lemon pepper seasoning salt, to taste

Combine the first four ingredients in a large mixing bowl.  In a separate bowl, whisk together remaining ingredients.  Pour them over the salad ingredients and toss to coat.  Refrigerate until serving.  We served them on mini baguettes that were in the reduced bakery section of Albertson’s, and I felt very garden-club-y.  I think it would also be fabulous on a bed of lettuce.  I used the umbrella picks to hold the sandwich together and keep Muffin entertained.  I found them at a kitchen supply store in Baton Rouge (in the area devoted to bar supplies).

Muffin Approved

I get the cutest fonts from Free Scrapbook Fonts! kevinandamanda.com/fonts

What’s your favorite way to eat chicken salad?

2 thoughts on “Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Chicken Salad

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday: Week 2 of Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  2. Pingback: Josh’s Lunch Salad and Playground Stories | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

