Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Pico de Gallo

Please Don't Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge

I promise that I actually looked at and tried to follow The Slow Roasted Italian’s Pico de Gallo recipe.  I did…honest.  But things kept happening.  First of all, I didn’t want to have to clean and peel a red onion and a white onion, and I like red onion better in pico de gallo, anyway.  (Plus, the corn salsa was only going to require 1/3 cup, and the red onion was huge!)

Then, when juicing the lemon for the cilantro lime rice, Josh and Muffin juiced more than 2 teaspoons.  So, we added the remaining tablespoon or so to the pico de gallo, or “pico” as we call it at home.

And I wanted to kind of control the spice, so I only used 1 1/2 jalapenos in the pico.

And while I adore foods with cilantro (I served three dishes at dinner that required cilantro), I detest washing and chopping cilantro.  So, I’m pretty sure that I didn’t add nearly half of a bunch to the pico.  And I may have added an extra garlic clove to compensate (plus the garlic cloves were small).

In the end, my recipe probably didn’t resemble The Slow Roasted Italian’s masterpiece, but we liked it.  The lemon added a great twang to contrast with the lime.  I love that word “twang.”  Usually, it has a negative connotation, but here it most definitely had a positive spin to it.

Here’s what I did…in recipe form.

Pico de Gallo

An Attempt to Follow The Slow Roasted Italian’s Recipe

6 large plum tomatoes, diced

1/2 red onion, diced

chopped cilantro, roughly 3/4 cup after chopping

1 1/2 jalapenos, seeded, de-membraned, and finely diced

3 small cloves garlic, peeled and minced

4 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice (courtesy of Josh and Muffin)

3/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice (courtesy of Josh and Muffin)

Mix all ingredients together in a LARGE bowl.  Toss them.  Toss them again half an hour later.  This works great as a dip for chips, a topping for tacos (or burritos or burrito bowls or anything requiring salsa or pico), or on its own with a spoon and a smile.

This recipe is definitely Muffin Approved.  And Muffin doesn’t like onion.  Or pepper (which I guess is what the jalapeno looked like).  But he still liked it.

Muffin Approved

How do you like your pico?

2 thoughts on “Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Pico de Gallo

  1. Pingback: Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: A Chipotle Night | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  2. Pingback: Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Chicken Salad | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

