Meal Plan Monday: Week 1 of Please-Don’t-Heat-Up-the-Kitchen

Meal Plan Monday

Welcome to Louisiana.  Land of the already humid and hot.  Yes, we had a very cold winter and a slow decline into hot, but sauna weather now has us in its oh-so-uncomfy grasp and doesn’t seem ready to let up until the mercury surges past 100.  I’m one of those crazy people who believes that above one hundred degrees is a GOOD thing…because that means that horrendous humidity will burn off.

Friday, my first day off of work, led to a muggy that forced me to end my plans for the day (getting the week’s grocery shopping done) because before I even started the shopping portion of the day, I ended up turning tail and running with a humidity headache.

Yes, we are to that lovely time of year where you feel like you are breathing in a steamy glass of H2O with every inhale of breath.

Did I mention that I love this weather?  Not.

This summer, I pledge to channel my inner Stephanie O’Dea and use my slow cookers until they scream for mercy…and beyond.  I have spent weeks (since our big ice storm, ironically enough…because I knew this insanity was coming), painstakingly pinning and bookmarking recipes that promise not to heat up my kitchen.

Slow cooker recipes.  Grilling recipes.  Cold pasta recipes that can be prepared in the morning and chilled until later.  Sandwiches.  Salads.  Frozen treats and cold bevvies abound!

I’m going to call it the Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge.  I haven’t created a graphic for it yet, but I promise to soon.  This challenge will last longer than one week but I won’t be as manic about it (no more than two new recipes per day, excluding when we head to Oh, Canada! in less than a month when I probably won’t post as much).  Also, as Muffin and I will be home during the day this summer, I’m going to try to guesstimate breakfasts and lunches with each Meal Plan Monday.

So…without further ado…

Saturday (5/24):  Mom’s Hamburger Vegetable Soup and grilled cheese

Sunday (5/25):  leftover soup and salad

Monday(5/26):  breakfast–Crock Pot Creme Brulee French Toast (Plain Chicken), fried ham

Monday (5/26):  lunch–leftover soup or hot dogs

Monday (5/26):  supper–Chipotle’s Crockpot Barbacoa, cilantro-lime rice, corn salsa from Better in Bulk, pico de gallo (The Slow Roasted Italian) all in a burrito bowl

Tuesday (5/27):  breakfast–leftover French toast, sausage (or cereal)

Tuesday (5/27):  lunch–leftover burrito bowl

Tuesday (5/27):  supper–No Boil Crockpot Baked Ziti (Thrifty Jinxy)

Wednesday (5/28):  breakfast–cereal/scavenge

Wednesday (5/28):  lunch–leftover ziti

Wednesday (5/28):  supper–Slow Cooker Chicken Parmigiana Meatloaf (Recipe Girl)

Thursday (5/29):  breakfast–Biscoff Baked Oatmeal (Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures)

Thursday (5/29):  lunch–leftover meatloaf (maybe meatloaf sandwiches!!!)

Thursday (5/29):  supper–Crock Pot Cheesy Ravioli Casserole (Six Sisters’ Stuff)

Friday (5/30):  breakfast–leftover baked oatmeal

Friday (5/30):  lunch–leftover ravioli (or hot dogs if none left)

Friday (5/30):  supper–Pizza Meatball Subs (convert for Crock Pot) (Kraft Recipes)–I will also add in the toppings we normally use for our normal meatball subs

Saturday (5/31):  breakfast–either leftover breakfast items or cereal/scavenge

Saturday (5/31):  lunch–Chef Salad–Food on a Stick (Pocket Change Gourmet)

Saturday (5/31):  supper–The Best-Ever Grilled Margarita Chicken (The Slow Roasted Italian)–finally!

Sunday (6/1):  breakfast–big breakfast (eggs, breaky meat, cheese, tomato slices, toast, maybe breakfast potatoes)

Sunday (6/1):  lunch–Caesar Basil Pasta Salad (The Country Cook)–I may add a bit of protein to this

Sunday (6/1):  supper–Aunt Ginny’s Chicken Salad (The Sisters’ Cafe)

Are you ready to take the Please-Don’t-Heat-Up-the-Kitchen pledge?

As always, I will be linking up at OrgJunkie’s Menu Plan Monday.

What do you think?

