Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Crock Pot Creme Caramel Bruleed French Toast

Please Don't Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge

 

For many reasons, this recipe was worthy of kicking off the new recipe challenge.

#1.   It used the slow cooker, so it didn’t heat up the kitchen.

#2.   It was a slow cooker breakfast recipe, so it really stretched my versatility as a cook (or a “cooker,” as Muffin says).

#3.  My alterations included bruleeing the top of the “toast” after sprinkling it with sugar.  With a torch.  Any recipe that uses a torch brings up my inner cave woman!

#4.  It is absolutely beyond yummy.

#5.  See #4.

#6.  The Creme Brulee Duo is my absolute favorite restaurant dessert.  It’s served at Grand Lux Cafe, my absolute favorite restaurant.  Two creme brulees in ramekins with whipped cream in a swirly poof on the side bedecked by a decorative strawberry…one being a “plain” creme brulee and the other being chocolate…makes Muffin’s Mama a very, very happy girl.  If you haven’t tried them, go to Dallas (at the Galleria) or Vegas (at the Venetian…I want to go to the Venetian simply to visit the first Grand Lux Cafe…I’m weird that way) or any other location.  Don’t worry about dinner.  Just order the Creme Brulee Duo.

#7 .  #6 is the reason that I love this recipe so much.  It reminded me of it.  Now, I just need to find a way to make a Crock Pot Chocolate Creme Bruleed French Toast, and I’ll be really happy.

#8.  Breakfast was pretty much done when I woke up this morning.

#9.  Did I mention the torch?

#10.  See Numbers 4-9.

I adapted Plain Chicken’s recipe a bit (namely, making the bruleed crust and adding in a few aged croissants since the Hawaiian bread I used fell short of the 12 ounce mark).  I’m not saying that her recipe was not wonderful, it’s just when I think of creme brulee, I think of that lovely glassy, nearly burnt sugar crust.

Here’s what I did…

Crock Pot Creme Caramel Bruleed French Toast

Heavily Adapted from Plain Chicken’s Crock-Pot Creme Brulee French Toast

1 package Hawaiian sweet bread hamburger buns, torn in rough chunks

3 cocktail croissants (the small ones), torn in rough chunks

4 cups milk (I used 2%)

1/2 cup sugar

3 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla (although I wonder what vanilla bean caviar would do to this)

1/4 teaspoon salt

2-3 tablespoons sugar, for dusting the top of the “toast”

caramel ice cream topping, heated in the microwave

Place bread chunks in the slow cooker.  I used my trusty red five quart one that makes me feel a bit sassy.  In a mixing bowl, whisk together milk, 1/2 cup sugar, eggs, vanilla, and salt (the mixture will be thick).  Pour over bread in the slow cooker.  Press bread down lightly with hands (to make it gooshy).  Wash hands.  (It’s important to play with your food, according to Alton Brown)  Cover and chill at least four hours.  Remove from fridge and cook on low for 7-8 hours.  This is one of those recipes that will really not turn out too well if your slow cooker has “hot spots.”  Turn off cooker.  After 30 minutes (okay, I couldn’t resist and did it after 10), spray surface of “toast” lightly with non-stick cooking spray so that sugar will adhere.  Sprinkle surface with sugar.  Turn on a small butane kitchen torch to the “continuous” setting.  Moving the torch over the surface of the toast constantly to melt and brulee the sugar, brulee the sugar.  Do not over-caramelize (burn) it.  It is very important to keep the torch constantly moving in either tight circles or sweeping strokes.  Scoop out “toast” onto plates, being sure that each serving receives yummy crunchy bruleed bits.  Top with caramel sauce.

We served ours with ham that had been “fried” in a skillet sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.

This recipe was definitely Muffin Approved.

Muffin Approved

What is your favorite slow cooker breakfast dish?

3 thoughts on “Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: Crock Pot Creme Caramel Bruleed French Toast

  1. Pingback: Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: A Chipotle Night | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  2. Pingback: We Plan Wednesday: Fourth of July Burger Bash | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  3. Pingback: Tip Tuesday: Kitchen Essentials #1: The Slow Cooker | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

