Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: A Chipotle Night

Please Don't Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge Recently, our area’s first Chipotle opened.  Finally.  Our area entered civilization.  That location was not my first taste of Chipotle.  Years ago, my sister and brother-in-law lived in the Dallas area.  When we visited them, we used to eat at Chipotle…a lot.  One burrito was too big for me.  But I loved that signature foil-wrapped bundle.  The carnitas.  The cilantro-lime rice.  The corn salsa.  The pico de gallo (referred to in our family only as “pico”). My wonderful sister informed me that while the carnitas were perfectly lovely (not her words; I’m paraphrasing), she loved the barbacoa best.  So, when I noticed a recipe for Chipotle’s barbacoa…on The Slow Roasted Italian (which meant it had to be awesome)…and in the slow cooker?  Yes, I had to brag to her that I found a recipe. When planning the challenge, I knew that recipe had to be a part of it early on.  This morning, after enjoying the ever-so-delightful Crockpot Creme Caramel Bruleed French Toast, I prepped the barbacoa.  And my sister called me only a couple of hours later wondering if I had made the barbacoa yet. She is seriously chomping at the bit for a review of it.  Something about wanting to make it at home, I think. Well, I made it.  I’ve never tasted the original, but it tasted pretty good (although a bit spicy).  I even reduced the number of chipotles in adobo that I included.  It was definitely too spicy for Josh.  So, I will make it milder next time.  And there will be a next time.  There’s always a next time…evil laugh! Instead of making the burritos, I made burrito bowls/salads for us (In other words, Josh and I had a salad and Muffin had a bowl). But, I couldn’t stop with just the barbacoa.  I also made Better in Bulk’s copycat recipe for the corn salsa, The Slow Roasted Italian’s pico de gallo (sort of…but that’s a long story), and The Slow Roasted Italian’s Better Than Chipotle Cilantro Lime Rice.  We also added sour cream and cheddar cheese (as well as romaine lettuce to Josh’s and my bowls). Check the links below for my take on each of the components.

Chipotle’s Copycat Barbacoa

Better Than Chipotle Cilantro Lime Rice

Pico de Gallo

Chipotle Corn Salsa Copycat

This meal was definitely Muffin Approved.  He ate most of his with chips. One thing that I didn’t have was pinto beans.  Which was, in a way, a travesty because Muffin loves beans. Muffin Approved Have you ever had a restaurant-inspired night?

One thought on “Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: A Chipotle Night

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday: A Cinco de Mayo Chipotle-Inspired Feast | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

