Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: The Graphic Revealed!

Please Don't Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge

Yup.  There it is.  The new graphic for the new challenge.  The following recipes are planned for Week 1:

Crock Pot Creme Brulee French Toast from Plain Chicken

Chipotle’s Crock Pot Barbacoa from The Slow Roasted Italian

Chipotle’s Cilantro-Lime Rice from The Slow Roasted Italian

Chipotle’s Corn Salsa from Better in Bulk

Pico de Gallo from The Slow Roasted Italian

No-Boil Crock Pot Baked Ziti from Thrifty Jinxy

Biscoff Baked Oatmeal from Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures

Slow Cooker Chicken Parmigiana Meatloaf from Recipe Girl

Crock Pot Cheesy Ravioli Casserole from Six Sisters’ Stuff

Pizza Meatball Subs (adapted for Crock Pot) from Kraft Recipes

Chef Salad–Food on a Stick from Pocket Change Gourmet

The Best-Ever Grilled Margarita Chicken from The Slow-Roasted Italian

Caesar Basil Pasta Salad from the Country Cook (I will probably add a protein)

Aunt Ginny’s Chicken Salad from The Sisters’ Cafe

Why the challenge?  Well, I really enjoyed trying out all of the new recipes during the Spring Cleaning New Recipe Challenge, and now that I’m out for the summer, I felt this was a perfect opportunity to try out some more new recipes.  But…I live in Louisiana.  We tend to have more than 30 consecutive days surpassing the 100 degree (Fahrenheit) mark each summer.  While trying to eat frugally at home in the summer, I think we make the money saving counter-productive because we spend so much money cooling the house as we heat it up.

And…honestly…I haven’t met an air conditioner yet that can keep up with kitchen activity and a Louisiana summer.  Ours definitely can’t.

So, I added an extra dimension to my challenge.  For months, I have attempted to bookmark, pin, and collect hundreds of recipes that would not heat up the kitchen during the hottest part of the day.  Recipes made in the slow cooker.  Recipes that can be made in the microwave.  Recipes that can be made (like pasta salads) in the morning when it’s cooler and chilled until dinner time.  Recipes made on the “Barbie.”  Cool sips and even cooler (frozen) desserts.  Salads.

So, most new recipes that I try in this challenge will fit one of those categories.  Or can be adapted (hopefully) to fit one of these categories.  I’m not going to go super wacky as I did with the Spring Cleaning New Recipe Challenge and have multiple new recipes daily.  We will probably utilize leftovers from each of the challenge meals for lunches (or even dinners).  Leftovers are great because they can usually be microwaved, thus adding to the air-cooling-saving of the day.  Of course, I will (probably) be taking the Canada vacay off from the challenge.  Although I might try to help my mother-in-law out with the cooking with those requirements.

Would you like to join with me for this challenge?  Do you have any recipes that I should try?  If so, please let me know below!

What do you think?

