Sister Syrup…The True Story

For my entire life, rather than buy pancake syrup (or jam for biscuits), my mom made Sister Syrup, a slightly browned simple syrup (a 2:1 ratio of sugar to water).  I never really understood the origin of the recipe, but I finally asked my mom on the phone the other day.

When she was little, she would always had this syrup (on pancakes or biscuits or anything else).  When her younger sister was just slightly post-infant, she would ask for some of “Sister’s Syrup.”  Thus, the name sister syrup was born.  Short of making a plain simple syrup, it’s probably the easiest recipe that you’ve ever made.

Sister Syrup

(I like it best on biscuits with a dab of peanut butter)

1 cup sugar

1 cup water

Dissolve sugar in water and put over medium heat.  Bring to a boil, stirring often.  Boil until the syrup gets a bit of color.  Reduce heat to low and allow to sit until its chosen vessel is ready.

(The best way to do this is to start the syrup before you start preparing the biscuits or pancakes, so it has plenty of time to get a bit of color)

Serve hot over biscuits (the best!) or pancakes.

Repeat as needed.

Recently, at my sister’s, my brother-in-law Brian made Sister Syrup for Easter Sunday breakfast.  Here are some pickies from that breakfast.

When it looks like this, reduce the heat.

My plate…(clockwise from bottom)…scrambled eggs, grits with Tony Chachere’s seasoning, hash brown potatoes with ketchup, biscuit with Sister Syrup (I left off the peanut butter this time), sausage, and bacon.

Deb’s (my sister’s) plate with biscuit and Sister Syrup (with peanut butter)

What do you think?

