Thoughtful Thursday: The Vilification of Food

Thoughtful Thursday

As a Foodie or a Gourmand (Gourmandette?), I feel the need to constantly defend food.  There is a whole group of people who use the food-as-fuel philosophy.  Those people are okay.  I feel bad for them, and I hope they learn to see food beyond a means to an end, but I don’t feel anger toward their point of view.

No, my “beef” (pun intended) is at people, businesses, and government agencies (you know who you are) who feel the need to vilify certain foods or simply food in general.  To the point of banning certain foods in certain places.

Josh tells me that I should stop reading blogs because they make me angry.  And they do.  Someone, either the author or a commenter, is bound to make me upset at some point when taking a stand on a hot button food issue.  And I make the situation worse by seeking them out perversely, knowing what the stance is.  I don’t know why.  Is it because I hope my preconceived notions of their opinion (that they can have in America as we have freedom of expression but that I can vehemently and vociferously disagree with) is incorrect?  That surely they don’t mean to vilify food.

And then, invariably, they live down to my expectations.  These are the same people that sit in judgment of the fat, calories, and sugar that I post on this blog (and heaven help anyone who dares to post more calorie-laden goodies than I do).

As my students say, I’m throwing hints.  No, I’m not going to start a war by calling anyone out by name on this blog.  But, in reading one recently, I noticed that someone (who probably is on my pro-food side in the equation) called the individual out in the comments section on a fallacious point that she had made.  And she responded with a snarky comment that the commenter’s response was flagged as spam.  Now, it would be one thing if the commenter had called her names; the commenter simply said “you’re wrong and here’s the evidence to support that.”

I’ve found that people who sit on their pedestals judging people (especially fat people, and she had made judgmental comments about fat people) tend to be unable to respond appropriately to constructive and corrective criticism.

By the way, when did fat people become the okay group to make fun of, bully, and mock?  I freely admit to being overweight, but reducing all criticisms about me to my weight cheapens your argument.  And reduces the critic to the rank of school playground name caller and bully.  It seems that in this brave new world of political correctness, when it’s not okay to make fun of people for this reason or that reason, it’s hunting season on fat people.

Now, where was I?

Oh, yes, the vilification of food.  And the vilification of fat people.  Because it seems that the same people who do one do the other.  Food in moderation is not bad.  A cupcake in moderation is not bad.  A cupcake is not evil.  It has no evil intent.  I say this because of the self-proclaimed Cupcake Nazis who wish them banned from classrooms.  Maybe I read their propagandizing in order to hope that somehow there is logical evidence for their point of view.  And I continue to read because I haven’t found any yet.

Yes, these are cupcakes. They are not airborne strains of the AIDS virus. They are not vials of heroin. They are not miniature A-Bombs. They are cupcakes. And not evil. And, when enjoyed in moderation, quite nice.

Because now, it has gone even further.  I’m a horrible parent if I wish to observe my son’s birthday with his future classmates by providing cupcakes to his fellow classmates.  But now, let’s take it one step further.  If I make the supreme mistake of, on my son’s birthday, supplying him with a birthday cupcake in his lunch, it must be confiscated because he doesn’t have a balanced lunch. Ohhh kayyyy.  Who’s to say that the cupcake isn’t sweetened with agave with a pure spinach filling and a beetroot frosting?  And made with (and oh-yes-they-did) quinoa flour?  I mean, I don’t see myself supplying one to my son with that chemical makeup, but you are going to confiscate a special treat on my son’s birthday because you deem it nutritionally deficient?

For future reference, if that supreme mistake is made, be aware that I may refer to you as being logic deficient (as well as a bunch of other not-so-nice epithets).

Also be aware that on that same day, my son will probably have spears of chicken, a few cubes of cheese, a whole wheat tortilla, carrots, grape tomatoes, cucumbers, and “trees” (broccoli) with a Greek yogurt ranch dip.

Yes.  Nutritionally deficient.

Since starting this blog (with the exception of the eating out binge of last week), I have been eating healthier.  I’ve been more conscious of what I put in my mouth and what Muffin puts in his mouth.

I don’t know if I’m losing weight or not, but I am eating fewer items with ingredients that are difficult to pronounce.

I am trying (with varying amounts of success) to wean myself off of soda (which I think I saw compared to heroin and considered worse than marijuana, according to some of those who believe in the vilification of food…hmmm…that doesn’t make me question your evidence AT ALL).

But, seeing the judgmental behavior of some people really makes me want to become an emotional eater of processed junk all over again.

(Steps off of the soapbox and looks longingly at a bag of Oreos)

What do you think?

