Tip Tuesday: Make a Treat to Last the Week (‘Zert)

Tip Tuesday

I’ve been trying to do this for the past several weeks.  I’ve managed to have breakfast covered the last few work weeks:  homemade sausage or bacon on a biscuit, banana, and a sweet treat.  I will often have half of the sweet treat for breakfast and the other half for lunch.  In the past weeks I’ve made the following “sweet treats” for this purpose:

Joanne Fluke’s Chocolate Chip Crunches (I really need to post the recipe soon)

Lunch Lady Peanut Butter Bars from Six Sisters’ Stuff

Peanut Butter Fudge from The Slow Roasted Italian

And now…

No-Bake Peanut Butter Bars from One Good Thing by Jillee

Do you notice a theme?  I promise; I’m really not that fond of peanut butter.  But I know that peanut butter keeps working in my system through lunch and staves off that tummy-grumbling-lethargy that sometimes hits as early as 10:30 (since I eat breakfast at roughly 6:30 a.m.).  I have to add sugar and/or chocolate to make peanut butter palatable.  Or graham crackers.  And this recipe has them all!  And it’s easy cheesy.  But without the cheese.

Muffin has eaten…well…I’ve lost count…but he snatched one almost out of my hand (well…bargained one out of my hand).

I did make one alteration to the recipe.  I used a whole bag of milk chocolate chips for the top rather than one cup (closer to 1 1/2 cups).  Next time I would probably add a tablespoon or two of cream to make the top a bit softer and easier to cut.  I would also double the peanut butter mixture so that I would be making as many bars (but those bars would be thicker).

No-Bake Peanut Butter Bars

Heavily Adapted from One Good Thing by Jillee

1 stick melted butter (1/2 cup)

1 cup powdered sugar

1 cup graham cracker crumbs (Josh did the crushing for me, and I told him to crush them finely.  Jillee mentions in the recipe that she crushes them fairly coarsely.  Crushed finely, this is one plastic encased package plus 2 full graham crackers–the 8 rectangle crackers)

1 cup peanut butter (I used smooth)

1 package milk chocolate chips, melted in the microwave until just done (Otherwise, the chocolate could seize up) (I will add 2 tablespoons cream to this next time to allow for a softer, easier to cut, chocolate layer)

Mix together the butter and sugar with a cup.  Fold in the crumbs until well-combined.  Do the same with the peanut butter.  Spread and press the mixture into a 9×13″ pan.  I foil-lined mine, but I don’t think that was necessary.  I did use it as a sling to remove the bars, however.

Melt the chocolate chips and add the cream, if using.  Using a butter knife or an offset spatula, spread the chocolate in a thin layer on top of the peanut butter layer.

Chill the pan for four hours to solidify.  After four hours of impatient waiting, cut into small bars.  I make mine very small because these bars are very rich (like Reese’s peanut butter cups).

Enjoy!  Muffin certainly has.

Muffin Approved

One thought on “Tip Tuesday: Make a Treat to Last the Week (‘Zert)

  1. Pingback: Tip Tuesday: Homemade Candy Faves! | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

