Meal Plan Monday: What to Do If a Dish Begs to Jump Place in Line?

Meal Plan Monday

What should one do when a dish begs to jump place in line?  The best thing to do is to first look at what the original meal plan was for this week.

Saturday: grill stuff (steaks/hot dogs)

Sunday: chick-fil-a nuggets, fries, fruit (strawberries)

Monday: leftover honey garlic chicken, rice, veg

Tuesday: tourtiere, veg, mashed potatoes and gravy (prep this weekend)

Wednesday: Pioneer Woman bbq meatballs over rice, veg

Thursday: leftovers

Friday: pizza of some variety

Saturday: more grill stuff (wings)

Sunday: spaghetti

Well…in the great crazy meal prep for this week that occurred on Sunday, a few things happened.

#1:  The chicken for the nuggets would not thaw.  Which means that I couldn’t cut them into nuggets to marinate.

#2:  I prepped and then baked the Pioneer Woman meatballs.

#3:  And then I sampled one.  And another.  And another.  Then, I realized that I consumed enough of them to constitute my lunch.  And I realized that I was in trouble because I didn’t want to stop eating them.

#4:  I asked Muffin which he would rather:  meatballs (in a very excited voice) or nuggets (in a groaning voice).  He said he wanted meatballs with no persuasion from me.  No, really.

So, I read up on them in order to write a review on her site.  And everyone sang the praises of eating them with mashed taters.  So, we ate them with mashed taters.  I love them.  I want to name my next child Pioneer Woman Comfort Meatballs.  I’m only slightly kidding.

If you remember my posts where I wax poetic (or ad nauseum) about meatloaf, you should be able to realize how these yummy balls of goodness did it for me.  And made me turn my back on Chick-Fil-A chicken nuggets at home.  I gave them Sunday meal status!

I would not change a thing…except I might double the sauce next time.  A big shout out to Muffin and Josh for making the sauce while I portioned out the meatballs!

Pioneer Woman Meatballs

A.K.A. Comfort Meatballs or BBQ Meatballs or No, Daisy, You CANNOT Have My Meatballs!

1 1/2 lbs. ground beef (I used some that I had ground myself)

3/4 cup quick oats

1 cup milk

3 tablespoons finely minced onion

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

Lots of black pepper

1 cup flour (for coating the meatballs and making that crispy crust)

vegetable oil, for browning the ‘balls

1 cup ketchup

2 tablespoons sugar (I used the white stuff)

3 tablespoons vinegar (I used the white stuff)

2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce (I used the brown stuff)

4 tablespoons onion, again finely minced

a couple of dashes of red (original) Tabasco

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine all meatball ingredients (down to black pepper).  Scoop them out using your smallest cookie scoop.  Roll the balls and place them on a half-sheet pan.  Once they are all portioned, place the pan in the freezer for 5-15 minutes.  I did 8 minutes, and I wish I had done a bit longer.

Remove from freezer and dredge in flour.  I use a rolling motion followed by a “rolling the dice” motion to get the excess flour off.  Place back on sheet.

Brown meatballs in oil until just brown.  I ended up browning three sides.  Place in a 9×13″ baking dish.

Pour sauce over the balls.  Toss to coat.  Bake for 45 minutes at 350.  Devour promptly.

Verdict:  Success!  I have never successfully made homemade meatballs before this day.  It is repeatable.  As in, over and over, when can I have them again please?  Now???

So, the new goal of the meal plan is to swap out the nuggets for the meatballs and have the nuggets on Monday.

To answer the title question:  go with the flow.  Don’t force a meal if you aren’t feeling it.  Life is too short to not eat a meal you really want when it is within your reach (especially if you have already reached for a few samples).  Don’t let meal plan guilt get the better of you.

Now that I’ve gotten all Zen on you, I’m going to leave you with this:

As usual, I am linking up at OrgJunkie’s Menu Plan Monday!

Did I mention that this recipe is Muffin Approved?  He ate 1 1/2 balls before supper (Daisy stole the other half), and 4 at dinner (using one of those plastic sword picks for drink garnishes).  Any food on a stick is automatically Muffin-friendly.

Muffin Approved

 

2 thoughts on “Meal Plan Monday: What to Do If a Dish Begs to Jump Place in Line?

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday: The Dish I’m Most Excited About This Week | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  2. Pingback: Please Don’t Heat Up the Kitchen New Recipe Challenge: BBQ Comfort Meatballs for the Crock Pot | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

