‘Zert: Easy Peanut Butter Fudge in 10 Minutes (Slow Roasted Italian Recipe)

New Recipe Challenge

I think I’ve waxed poetic about my love for The Slow Roasted Italian’s site before.  Even though my dinner dish I’ve planned for this week doesn’t exactly fit in with the challenge, since we’ve made the 2-ingredient pizza dough pizza before, I wanted to include a new recipe from their site.

This one did not disappoint.  I’ve considered making peanut butter fudge in the past, preferably Alton Brown’s recipe, but it took this challenge to get me off of my duff and into the kitchen to make some.  And I seem to be in a peanut butter phase right now.  Me.  The child who hated peanut butter growing up.

I made this while making the Cinnamon Sugar Biscotti earlier.  It has to set up in the fridge for four hours, so it was nearly dinner time before Muffin and I could enjoy the fruits of our labor (Muffin licked the beaters after the fudge went into the fridge).  Here are the pics of the process (sort of).

Here’s how I did it (pretty much following the directions found in their Parade article verbatim):

Easy Peanut Butter Fudge

1/2 cup unsalted butter

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt (I used closer to 1/2)

2 cups packed brown sugar

1/2 cup whole milk (I used 2%)

1 1/2 cups peanut butter

1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract

2 cups powdered sugar (I pretty much packed mine)

Line an 8×8 baking sheet with foil (I couldn’t find my 8×8, so I used a 9×9).  Set aside.

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, melt butter.  Add brown sugar, milk, and salt.  (I ended up putting them all in the same pot and melting them all together…oops!)  Stir until mixture starts to bubble.  Allow mixture to boil for 2 minutes.

Remove from heat and stir in vanilla (and enjoy the bubbling show) and peanut butter.  Once the peanut butter is melted and combined, add powdered sugar and beat with an electric mixer (I used my hand mixer) until smooth.

Pour into the prepared 8×8 baking dish.  Cover with foil and refrigerate for 4 hours.  Cut into squares (this is very rich, so my squares were 1 cm x 1 cm…you feel less guilty for eating multiples that way).  I kept mine refrigerated.  Serve and enjoy!

Muffin calls dessert ‘Zert, so we had this for ‘Zert after the Quick and Easy Cheeseburger Pies and Hamburger Topping Salad.  This is after he ate 3 after nap time.  He ate two for ‘Zert.  And, as you can see in the picture below, Josh liked them as well.

These were definitely Muffin Approved!

Muffin Approved

What are you making for ‘Zert this week?

2 thoughts on “‘Zert: Easy Peanut Butter Fudge in 10 Minutes (Slow Roasted Italian Recipe)

  1. Pingback: Tip Tuesday: Make a Treat to Last the Week (‘Zert) | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

  2. Pingback: Tip Tuesday: Homemade Candy Faves! | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

