The Spring Cleaning New Recipe Challenge: Cinnamon Sugar Biscotti

New Recipe Challenge

Once upon a time I gave a Christmas gift…sort of.  In the mad rush to get ready for Christmas, I did not have a chance to make each of my parents their main gift:  for my mom, Limoncello (using Alton Brown’s recipe).  For my dad that meant biscotti.  Instead, I gave them each a coupon for the batch.  With spring break approaching, I promised my dad that I would make the biscotti.  So, I scoured recipes on the internet looking for one that didn’t involve chocolate drizzle (that my dad doesn’t prefer).  I found one that also didn’t involve nuts (Have you ever attempted to saw through biscotti after the first baking with nuts?  It’s not fun.) and had cinnamon in it.  My dad likes cinnamon.  He tries to incorporate it several times throughout the day because there is new research that suggests that cinnamon stabilizes blood sugar.

That’s the recipe I decided on.

I enlisted my trusty kitchen helper (Muffin) to help me through the process.  Now, I have not tested this recipe yet, but Muffin ate the end pieces that were once baked (because it’s awkward not to have to sliced sides on the second baking of biscotti.  For those of you that are scratching your head as I talk about first baking and second baking, don’t despair.  Biscotti means twice baked in Italian, supposedly.  You shape the play-doh like dough into flattened logs of varying widths (It depends on the recipe) and bake it (usually in a cooler oven).  Then, you take it out, saw it into sticks, put the sticks cut-side down and bake again to basically dry out the sticks.

My dad loves them.  They tend to be less sweet than other cookies.  And you eat them with coffee.  I knew he was getting a tub of Nonni’s biscotti for Christmas, so I figured that my contribution later in the year would be more appreciated and less biscotti overwhelming.  Here are the pictures from our morning of baking (in tandem with making Peanut Butter Fudge that I’ll blog about after it’s cooled, cut, and tasted).

Muffin stirring the dry ingredients.

The creamed butter and sugar.

Adding in the dry ingredients.

The “Play-Doh”-like dough.

The dough logs

Muffin painting the dough logs.

The dough logs, sawed, after their first baking.

 

 

Sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar

Twice baked.

Here’s the recipe:

Cinnamon Sugar Biscotti

Source:  Food.com Recipe #79890

2 cups all-purpose flour

2  1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon, divided

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup sugar, plus 3 tablespoons sugar, divided

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature

2 large eggs, divided

1 large egg yolk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.

Mix flour, 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon, baking powder, and salt in medium bowl to blend.

Beat 1 cup sugar and butter in a large bowl until fluffy.

Add 1 egg; beat well.

Add egg yolk; beat well.

Mix in vanilla, then dry ingredients.

Transfer dough to work surface and divide in half.

Shape each half into 9-inch long, 1 1/2 inch wide log.  I guesstimated.

Transfer logs to prepared baking sheet that you have lined with parchment paper.  I skipped this step because my work surface was the parchment-lined baking sheet.

Beat remaining egg in small bowl.

Brush logs with egg.

Bake until golden and firm to touch (dough will spread) about 50 minutes.

Cool on sheet.

Maintain oven temperature.

Mix remaining 3 tablespoons sugar and 1 teaspoon cinnamon in small bowl to blend.

Using serrated knife, cut logs into 1/2-inch wide slices.  The recipe says diagonal, but I wasn’t feeling that creative today.

Place biscotti, cut side down, on baking sheets.

Sprinkle 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon sugar mixture over each biscotti.  Mine wouldn’t hold 1/4 teaspoon each.  Again.  Guesstimation.

Bake until pale golden, about 20 minutes.

Store airtight at room temperature.

I should add the following notes.  1)  Muffin wants me to tell everyone in the Pinteresting Blogosphere that he very carefully cracked the egg for the egg wash. and 2)  These cookies are Muffin Approved because he stole one even though I told him several times that they were for Granddaddy.  (They are also Mama Approved because I sneaked a bit of Muffin’s biscotti)

Muffin Approved

This challenge is fun, isn’t it?

What do you think?

