Meal Plan Monday: The Surprise Result

Meal Plan Monday

Recently, two dishes made it past my lips that made me blanch in disgust.  One contained pasteurized process cheese spread, and the other included pasteurized process cheese log.  They tasted so chemically, so pasty, so fake, so ugh! that I wanted to become physically ill to remove them from my system.  I figured it was just a fluke.

After phase 1 testing for LEAP, my coworkers rewarded the students with Little Debbie Zebra Cakes.  We each had a set of those  cellophane-wrapped striped goodies.  It had been so long since I had eaten a “Debbie Cake,” and I greedily opened my package in a crinkling crescendo.  And took my first bite in months (because I’ve been baking goodies).  And nearly gagged.  Fake plasticky waxy shorteningy (and I love shortening for greasing pans and frying–and baking) nightmare of taste.

It was on my way home that I realized the cause of my taste buds rising up in revolt.  I’m sure everyone remembers this plate of breakfasty goodness:

The plate that Josh mentioned that had very little processed food on it.  My body had been undergoing (not through any purposeful decision of mine) a detox of processed food.  Yes, I still drink soda.  But in the past few months, very little of what I have eaten has been processed.

I’m not sure how I feel about that.  I’ve always been the cynic who snickered behind my monitor as I read in disbelief the bloggers who insisted that they felt better since dropping processed food from their systems and that they really could no longer stand the taste of processed foods.  My incredulity knew no bounds.  And now the thought of Velveeta, Cheez-Wiz, cheese powder, Debbie Cakes, or, gasp the horror of this, Twinkies, makes my stomach contents curdle.

Did I mention that I did not attempt this intentionally?

I’m worried about the pork chops that I’m making below, worried that the cream of chicken soup may make me physically ill.  And, before the anti-gluten-iacs say a word, I said I’ve almost eliminated processed food, not gluten.  Gluten and I are still besties.  I wonder if I should just attempt to make one of the homemade cream of chicken soup recipes.

In this week, the week of eight new dishes (counting this past weekend and this next weekend), there is very little processed food (except for the cream of chicken).  I’m not sure how I feel about that.

Saturday (3/22):  Crock-Pot Honey Garlic Chicken from Six Sisters’ Stuff, rice, veg

Sunday (3/23):  Slow Cooker Low Country Boil from Family Fresh Meals, bread

Monday (3/24):  Cowboy Chicken Casserole from Emeril Legasse on Food Network’s website, chips, and salsa

Tuesday (3/25):  Quick and Easy Cheeseburger Pies from Pocket Change Gourmet, “hamburger” salad

Wednesday (3/26):  Monterey Chicken from Six Sisters’ Stuff, rice, wedge salad

Thursday (3/27):  Crock Pot Ranch Pork Chops from Raining Hot Coupons, rice, veg

Friday (3/28):  2-ingredient pizza dough pizza from Slow Roasted Italian, salad

Saturday (3/29):  Medieval Date Night with medieval meal:  brothy soup, cheese, roasted fowl from GeekMom on Wired.com, pears poached in red wine

Sunday (3/30):  Chilies Rellenos Bake from Love Bakes Good Cakes but with meat added, veg or salad, chips and salsa, beans

I plan on remaking the Lunch Lady Peanut Butter Bars for enjoyment in the coming week(s).  I also plan on working on treats for testing week.  I’m going to have a testing group of around sixteen students, so I need to make sure they have four days of goodies.  I just haven’t figured out the four sets of goodies yet (or eight for lunch and after testing each day).  I want to make sure we have goodies to “get us through.”  I will definitely be making more sausage, as well (probably this next weekend).  It really works out well for my breakfasts on the go to have a sausage biscuit, further programming me to eat an unprocessed diet.

What are you eating this week?

As always, I am linking up at OrgJunkie’s Menu Plan Monday.  

What do you think?

