Carol’s Salsa: The Spring Cleaning New Recipe Challenge Day 3 Side Dish

New Recipe Challenge

Happy 100th post!  Imagine.  A few days ago 1,000 visitors, and now my 100th post.  This post is definitely 100th post worthy (the recipe is especially).

This isn’t a new recipe, per se, but it was used as a side dish with the Cowboy Chicken Casserole.  Carol’s daughter (whom I have never met) has a blog with two other friends.  A few years ago (before I first tasted her mom’s salsa) she posted the recipe on the blog.  Today, because the limes I purchased on Saturday were juiceless duds (pretty much), I added the juice of one lemon as well.  I recently purchased a salsa at Fresh by Brookshire’s that had lemon in it, and the lemon made the salsa.  What I love about this salsa is that it is ready in five minutes, it’s a restaurant-style salsa, and it comes from one of the best foodies I know (outside of my family), Carol.

Carol was our school’s librarian for a few years until she got a job closer to home.  During that time, she served as a source of advice to me, not only from a food standpoint.   Every time I make this salsa, I think of her.  She was very particular about the brand of the ingredients, and I agree.  Del Monte’s and Trappey’s make it.

1-28 ounce can Hunt’s diced tomatoes (or 2-14.5 ounce cans)

juice of one lime (and today, one lemon)

Trappey’s sliced jalapenos–I put about 8-10 in today.

handful of fresh cilantro (Remember:  more cilantro is better)

2-3 green onions, roughly chopped (Since the tops of them had gone bad, I used four)

dash of cumin (Um, the cumin shaker and I had an issue, so it may have been closer to half a teaspoon…but it was good…I promise)

Put all your “green” ingredients in the food processor or blender (I used my Ninja blender cup), and pulse a few times until it desired consistency (Muffin did this part, so it quickly became a paste).  Add tomatoes and pulse a few more times until well blended.  Pour into a dish and serve.

I actually keep it stored in the blender cup so that you can just pour it up like they do at Mexican restaurants.

Muffin and I might have snacked on some earlier and pretty much drank the contents of a Fiesta salsa cup.  Yes, this salsa is drinkable good.  I wonder what it would do to a Bloody Mary, and I hate Bloody Marys.

A blurred picture of Muffin with a chip.

It’s safe to say that this recipe is DEFINITELY Muffin Approved!

Muffin Approved

One thought on “Carol’s Salsa: The Spring Cleaning New Recipe Challenge Day 3 Side Dish

  1. Pingback: The Spring Cleaning New Recipe Challenge: Day 3 | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

