The Spring Cleaning New Recipe Challenge: Crock Pot Honey Garlic Chicken

New Recipe Challenge

I approached this recipe with some trepidation.  Just as with the Quick and Easy Cheeseburger Pies from Pocket Change Gourmet, this recipe has been on the meal plan and not made before.  With the cheeseburger pies the explanation is simple:  life interfered on the scheduled day.  But the motive behind skipping the Crock Pot Honey Garlic Chicken (Since I followed the recipe exactly, click the link to see the recipe from its origin) was a bit darker.

That being said, I have a confession to make.  It actually isn’t my confession; it’s Josh’s.  You know how much I love the Crock Pot (could possibly compose sonnets and ballads to both of my lovelies)?  Yeah, well, Josh doesn’t.  Love the Crock Pot, that is.  He tends to find everything too salty or dry or mushy or insert-any-complaint-here.

Granted, the Crock Pot baked potatoes had that metallic overpowering bite from the aluminum foil.  And when you mix sodium-saturated creamy condensed soups plus onion soup mix plus meat that’s fairly salty to begin with things become a bit of a salt lick.  And I sometimes have difficulty guesstimating the time required to insert-name-of-animal-roast-here.

So, as I geared up for the challenge and discovered not one, but three, slow cooker recipes on the list, I was skurred (with a few other “r’s” thrown in for good measure.  But, I wanted to test slow cooker recipes to see if they would pass the test for this summer when I do not, repeat DO NOT, want to heat up the kitchen.

It’s basically chicken breasts that cook in a liquid bath that resembles most of the components of a marinade that are then shredded and added to the same marinade bath that has been thickened with cornstarch.  Pretty much a fix-it-and-forget-it except for the step when you shred the chicken and thicken the liquid.

I prepped the liquid bath this morning with Josh’s help.  Our yummy local honey (local, as in, the bees probably feed off of our garden’s blooms each year) is in the process of solidification, so Josh had to scrape some out, heat, and measure.  I put all of the ingredients in my smaller Crock Pot.  To tell you the truth, a smaller one would have worked as well.

After it cooked for 6 hours, I shredded the meat, thickened the sauce with cornstarch, and added it back in.

Isn’t my baby pot a cutie?

I chose to add the sesame seeds and stirred them in, rather than sprinkling them on each serving after plating.

I served it with some of the yellow cherry tomatoes from Sam’s and petite green peas (from frozen) as well as serving the chicken over rice.  As this is a very flavorful dish, I would not recommend pairing it with anything too strongly flavored.  The clash of flavors would probably not go too well.

My verdict;  I had been nibbling on it from the time I shredded it.  It was already Mama Approved.  I would probably want to add some crushed red pepper flake on top of mine the next time I eat it, however.  When Josh took his first bite, I very anxiously awaited his critique.  “This is perhaps one of the best things you’ve made in the Crock Pot.”  Score!  Finally!  After a second helping of it, he upgraded it to “This is the best thing that you’ve ever made in the Crock Pot.”  And he agreed that it could be repeated.

I wish I could say that it was Muffin Approved, but as of yet, he hasn’t tasted it.  This is what Muffin did while we ate.

Late.  Afternoon.  Nap.  Epithet.  Epithet.  Epithet.  Late afternoon naps NEVER go well.

If you are participating in the challenge, let me know how it’s going below!

P.S.  I will update when Muffin tastes it to let you know if it’s Muffin Approved.

One thought on “The Spring Cleaning New Recipe Challenge: Crock Pot Honey Garlic Chicken

  1. Pingback: Tip Tuesday: Kitchen Essentials #1: The Slow Cooker | Full Happy Muffin and Mama: The Blog

What do you think?

